Display alias in spreadsheet

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
dpoen

Display alias in spreadsheet

Post by dpoen »

Hello everyone !

To introduce myself, as requested, I'm a developer working with FreeCAD on robotic topic, and use it to format CAD data before using it into some simulation. Also at home I'm planning to make some model for myself, and interested in making them parametric using the Spreadsheet.

Please note that I've no way to log in the bug tracker (can't get the validation mail :/) So I'm just posting my idea here, hope someone could drive me to the right place, if need be, thank :D
Moreover i don't want to fork FreeCAD just to propose a small change like that, and I would like to share that with you beforehand !

I've been playing around with the Spreadsheet, and as stated here : https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?t=17352 We need to duplicate data between the "alias" and a cell near to display the actual value of the alias to help keep track of it. And I agree that it's not very nice...
The change I'm proposing display in the cell something like "alias = value", instead of "value", but **without disturbing** the actual value of the cell, which could be used as usual in formula, with unit etc.
I'm only modifying the final string that is used to display the cell content.

I'm linking a patch that contain my change to achieve it, but it's really straightforward ! Apply it on the master branch.
freecad.patch.txt
The patch for the change, to be applied on the paster branch.
The .txt extension is just to be able to link on the post :)
(2.58 KiB) Downloaded 31 times
It's just a PoC right now, and if it's okay, maybe we should add a tick box to display them at the Sheet level, to allows the user to toggle it on/off ? Just an idea.