Supporting Qt 6 - What's needed?

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Supporting Qt 6 - What's needed?

Post by Kunda1 »

Porting from PySide2 to PySide6: https://doc.qt.io/qtforpython/porting_from2.html
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
chennes
Veteran
Posts: 3877
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: Supporting Qt 6 - What's needed?

Post by chennes »

For those of you who have been working on this, is there any mergeable code yet? It doesn’t have to be a complete working Qt6 FreeCAD, but if some modules are ready to go I think we should start putting it in, otherwise we are going to have a monster PR. Qt6 is now included in many mainstream distros, and while we expect our next release to have a min Qt of 5.12, it would certainly be nice to support 6.2+ as well.
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
GitHub profile, LinkedIn profile, chrishennes.com
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Supporting Qt 6 - What's needed?

Post by Kunda1 »

Totally agree
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Supporting Qt 6 - What's needed?

Post by Kunda1 »

@chennes maybe worth making a separate branch for qt6/pyside6 migration ?

Edit: one reason would be that we can use the Clazy based porting tool to help with the migration (see issue #7134)
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
chennes
Veteran
Posts: 3877
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: Supporting Qt 6 - What's needed?

Post by chennes »

I'm very hesitant to make a separate branch for this work, since of course the final product needs to be a build system that can compile either Qt5 or Qt6 depending on user preference. I'd prefer to just work on the master branch as usual.
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
GitHub profile, LinkedIn profile, chrishennes.com
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Supporting Qt 6 - What's needed?

Post by Kunda1 »

Ok, so if not a separate branch, then do we have folks interested in participating or who have already started working on this?
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
doia
Posts: 251
Joined: Sat May 29, 2021 5:47 am
Location: Düsseldorf

Re: Supporting Qt 6 - What's needed?

Post by doia »

Please do NOT work directly on the master branch! This will give a lot of headaches as the work on migrating to/ adding QT6 may involve a lot of commits. These commits will then be mixed with a all the other commits, which makes it hard to follow. And is bad practise anyways.
Instead use a separate branch which is rebased on master and merged if finished.
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Supporting Qt 6 - What's needed?

Post by Kunda1 »

FWIW, I agree with @doia
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
chennes
Veteran
Posts: 3877
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: Supporting Qt 6 - What's needed?

Post by chennes »

We certainly expect the actual developers of the PRs to operate on non-master branches: but the PR(s) themselves will be merged into master when they are ready. I don't see a point in actually forming a separate branch in the main depot for FreeCAD. What advantage do you see?
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
GitHub profile, LinkedIn profile, chrishennes.com
User avatar
obelisk79
Veteran
Posts: 1061
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 9:01 pm

Re: Supporting Qt 6 - What's needed?

Post by obelisk79 »

chennes wrote: Thu Jul 07, 2022 5:19 pm What advantage do you see?
Just a layman's thoughts. But wouldn't that centralize work between multiple contributors in the process of migrating to QT6 potentially preventing duplication of effort? Or is this something we're expecting only one or maybe two people to tackle? Once the work is done and merged with master, the branch can be deleted/archived to avoid excess clutter in the github branch listing.
Last edited by obelisk79 on Thu Jul 07, 2022 6:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply