[ Fixed ] TechDraw_Hatch with PNG does not work

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
Post Reply
User avatar
Roy_043
Veteran
Posts: 5270
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

[ Fixed ] TechDraw_Hatch with PNG does not work

Post by Roy_043 »

According to the documentation you should be able select a bitmap image when using TechDraw_Hatch, but I can't get it to work with a PNG image. Is the documentation perhaps faulty?

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 8.1 (6.3)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.27809 (Git)
Build type: Release
Python 3.8.12, Qt 5.12.9, Coin 4.0.0, OCC 7.5.3
Locale: Dutch/Netherlands (nl_NL)
Installed mods:
Last edited by Roy_043 on Wed Jul 13, 2022 6:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Shalmeneser
Veteran
Posts: 4795
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 12:04 am
Location: Fr

Re: TechDraw_Hatch with PNG does not work

Post by Shalmeneser »

Confirm. (neither PNG, JPEG, BMP)

TechDraw_Hatch :
Hatch Pattern: Full path and filename to an SVG pattern file.
C4e
Posts: 321
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2022 9:31 pm

Re: TechDraw_Hatch with PNG does not work

Post by C4e »

In addition, shouldn't be there a image filefilter in the 'Select a file dialog'? At the moment there could be any kind of file chosen.

The tooltip of the pattern file textfield seems to be wrong too.
User avatar
Roy_043
Veteran
Posts: 5270
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: TechDraw_Hatch with PNG does not work

Post by Roy_043 »

Thanks. I am now left wondering if this feature ever existed. Maybe the word "image" confused the original author?
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 4795
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: TechDraw_Hatch with PNG does not work

Post by wandererfan »

Roy_043 wrote: Sat Mar 12, 2022 6:01 pm According to the documentation you should be able select a bitmap image when using TechDraw_Hatch, but I can't get it to work with a PNG image. Is the documentation perhaps faulty?
Very strange. There is code to paint a face with a bitmap, but there is no code to invoke the painting or assign a bitmap as a fill.

issue #6582
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 4795
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: TechDraw_Hatch with PNG does not work

Post by wandererfan »

Roy_043 wrote: Sun Mar 13, 2022 9:34 am
This should be fixed by git commit ac4fa39ad4778270ad74b4f0831f6858473c223c.
User avatar
Roy_043
Veteran
Posts: 5270
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: TechDraw_Hatch with PNG does not work

Post by Roy_043 »

Thank you.
jnxd
Posts: 587
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 2:30 pm

Re: TechDraw_Hatch with PNG does not work

Post by jnxd »

Roy_043 wrote: Mon Jul 04, 2022 6:21 amThank you.
Glad this was fixed. Could you add the [Fixed] tag before the title? This way future developers know it doesn't need more attention.

In case you're unaware, you can change the title of the thread when editing your first post.
Post Reply