[FreeCAD 0.20] a beta release for Windows is available

Info about new community or project announcements, implemented features, classes, modules or APIs. Might get technical!
PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS OR OTHER DISCUSSIONS HERE!
User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4320
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: [FreeCAD 0.20] a beta release for Windows is available

Post by uwestoehr »

Syres wrote: Tue May 31, 2022 11:07 am Yep the latest installer-5 works as expected with regard to the Mesh Design Wb etc, thanks.
Great!

I made a new LibPack release that was used for this:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-LibP ... es/tag/2.5

This LibPack will be the one used for all 0.20.x releases (if no issues arise).
User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4320
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: [FreeCAD 0.20] a beta release for Windows is available

Post by uwestoehr »

wmayer wrote: Tue May 31, 2022 3:13 pm You have to use the GUI version, of course.
Thanks. I documented this now:
https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Compile_on_ ... leshooting
User avatar
jhaand
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2021 12:22 pm
Location: Venlo, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [FreeCAD 0.20] a beta release for Windows is available

Post by jhaand »

Could someone enlighten me on the current blockers for the 0.20beta1 Appimg's and Flatpaks?
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 3194
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: [FreeCAD 0.20] a beta release for Windows is available

Post by adrianinsaval »

jhaand wrote: Wed Jun 01, 2022 12:25 pm Could someone enlighten me on the current blockers for the 0.20beta1 Appimg's and Flatpaks?
I think flatpak is ok but the maintainer is working on upgrading occ to 7.6.2 + blobfish patches, which requires an upgrade of ifcopenshell too and was very tricky, you can see more here: https://github.com/flathub/org.freecadw ... AD/pull/77 if you can, test that ifcopenshell works well on the flatpak from the latest test build in that PR
User avatar
ebrahim raeyat
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 7:00 pm
Location: Iran
Contact:

Re: [FreeCAD 0.20] a beta release for Windows is available

Post by ebrahim raeyat »

uwestoehr wrote: Wed Jun 01, 2022 11:10 am So for 0.20, no additionally packages will be part of the LibPack.
I understand. Thanks a lot. Fortunately my problem solved with this solution:

https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 16#p599116
User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4320
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: [FreeCAD 0.20] a beta release for Windows is available

Post by uwestoehr »

I took a bit but now there are also Linux and MacOS builds available:

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/rele ... /0.20beta1

Please try them out.
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 3194
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: [FreeCAD 0.20] a beta release for Windows is available

Post by adrianinsaval »

@uwestoehr for the next installer is it possible to add a flag to force uninstall of an existing version of freecad? even if it is the same version of the installer? I bring it up because I saw this: https://github.com/chocolatey-community ... ssues/1872 basically FreeCAD-0.19.4-WIN-x64-installer-2.exe doesn't want to install over an existing installation using FreeCAD-0.19.4-WIN-x64-installer-1.exe, I don't remember if it was worth doing the reinstall for those version but there were cases before were it was worth it due to bugs in fixed in the dependencies.
User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4320
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: [FreeCAD 0.20] a beta release for Windows is available

Post by uwestoehr »

adrianinsaval wrote: Wed Jun 08, 2022 7:42 pm because I saw this: https://github.com/chocolatey-community ... ssues/1872 basically FreeCAD-0.19.4-WIN-x64-installer-2.exe doesn't want to install over an existing installation using FreeCAD-0.19.4-WIN-x64-installer-1.exe,
I cannot reproduce this. I tested this before I upload any installer. I also update FreeCAD on all the machines I have access to by simply installing over an existing FC 0.19.

Of course there is a warning because installing over existing installations can cause issues. However, pressing Yes in the warning works to force the installation. If you have then issues, you know you must reinstall.
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 3194
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: [FreeCAD 0.20] a beta release for Windows is available

Post by adrianinsaval »

uwestoehr wrote: Wed Jun 08, 2022 11:19 pm I cannot reproduce this. I tested this before I upload any installer. I also update FreeCAD on all the machines I have access to by simply installing over an existing FC 0.19.

Of course there is a warning because installing over existing installations can cause issues. However, pressing Yes in the warning works to force the installation. If you have then issues, you know you must reinstall.
It's meant to be an unattended installation via script, how to proceed then, should it run an uninstaller first?
User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4320
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: [FreeCAD 0.20] a beta release for Windows is available

Post by uwestoehr »

adrianinsaval wrote: Thu Jun 09, 2022 12:45 pm It's meant to be an unattended installation via script, how to proceed then, should it run an uninstaller first?
In a scripted installation, the default values will be taken for all dialogs. In this case it will be "No" and thus the installation won't be performed. This is OK, because as i wrote in rare cases there might be issues on overinstalling. Therefore for admins it is advised to uninstall then reinstall.
Post Reply