Feature Request: Parameter Interface (Unless I'm missing something)

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
dracolytch

Feature Request: Parameter Interface (Unless I'm missing something)

Post by dracolytch »

Hey all,

I'm fairly new to FreeCAD, but I gotta say, I'm a HUGE fan, and I'm hoping to teach FreeCAD lessons at the makerspace at work once I get better.

As I've been working (Mostly in part design / sketcher), the most awkward part of the whole tool is adding parameters. Creating a spreadsheet, going back and forth... It makes it so that one of the most powerful/useful features, which should be in everyone's projects are too cumbersome to use, and only get leveraged "when really necessary." Switching modes, creating a spreadsheet, naming with an alias... None of that is easily at-hand or intuitive.

I think this great capability would be more helpful if it was readily at-hand at any time. For example, in the sketcher, having another panel below the constraints and elements which had available variables and a quick way to add a new one. Maybe behind the scene it creates a spreadsheet or something? Heck, even better, when I'm entering the dimension of a constraint, have a text box that lets me name that dimension in a variable, so I can quickly reference it, and have a drop-down of other constraints used in that sketch for quick re-use.

That is, of course, unless I'm missing something that already exists, in which case, I sincerely apologize.

~D
adrianinsaval
Veteran

Re: Feature Request: Parameter Interface (Unless I'm missing something)

Post by adrianinsaval »