See the Dimensions of the solid object

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
gooddealonly
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2021 2:36 am

See the Dimensions of the solid object

Post by gooddealonly »

Is there any way to display the dimension on the solid object|
For example, no dimension is displayed on the solid object. If I click on a surface or an edge, the display makes no related indication on the model tree in the Combo View. If I want to see the dimension of any part, I have to find the named label of that part. That is if I name that part in a sensible manner, to begin with. It would be nice to be able to click on a part of the solid object, the dimensions such as the diameter, pad, or pocket length would be displayed. Better yet, the sketch of the selected part would be high light in the model tree.

Is there a way to do this?

I tried to label the different Pads, pockets, and sketches to make sense to me. Still, on some parts, I just could not come up with a good label for it. Since I built the model from the bottom up layer by layer, I have to find the correct sketch for that layer to see the dimensions.
Attachments
popup_short1024_1.jpg
popup_short1024_1.jpg (104.14 KiB) Viewed 510 times
popup-cleaner-4.FCStd
(719.44 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
User avatar
bambuko
Veteran
Posts: 1549
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: See the Dimensions of the solid object

Post by bambuko »

Do you mean like that?
Screenshot from 2022-06-29 20.09.03.png
Screenshot from 2022-06-29 20.09.03.png (342.93 KiB) Viewed 495 times

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu Core 20 (Pantheon/pantheon)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 2022.628.14555 (Git shallow)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 2022.06.28-edge)
Hash: abbaa46a30fd0e9629cbac1d76aaf623b5c5b9e7
Python version: 3.8.10
Qt version: 5.15.3
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.6.2
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)
gooddealonly
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2021 2:36 am

Re: See the Dimensions of the solid object

Post by gooddealonly »

I am a new FreeCAD user, so please don't mind my ignorance.
Maybe, but I will have to see it on my computer to tell. There is not enough detail to see.

1) how did you get the value to display.
2) the Combo view model tree appears different on my newly installed FreeCAD 0.20. Yours look much nicer. How did you get the model tree to display like that?
3) Did you add the pointing red arrow?

Thanks.

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 Version 2009
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.29177 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-20
Hash: 68e337670e227889217652ddac593c93b5e8dc94
Python 3.8.10, Qt 5.15.2, Coin 4.0.1, Vtk 8.2.0, OCC 7.6.2
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
mario52
Veteran
Posts: 3973
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: See the Dimensions of the solid object

Post by mario52 »

Hi gooddealonly

tray:

(with this only good deal)

Macro_FCInfo Image

Macro_FCInfo_ToolBar Image

Macro_FCInfoGlass Image

hi bambuko

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Topological_data_scripting. My macros on Gist.github here complete macros Wiki and forum.
gooddealonly
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2021 2:36 am

Re: See the Dimensions of the solid object

Post by gooddealonly »

And, how did you make the object transparent or see-through?
NewJoker
Veteran
Posts: 1179
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 7:49 pm

Re: See the Dimensions of the solid object

Post by NewJoker »

Here you can set the transparency: Std SetAppearance

Also, check this discussion about adding dimensions to 3D models: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=67075
User avatar
Shalmeneser
Veteran
Posts: 4746
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 12:04 am
Location: Fr

Re: See the Dimensions of the solid object

Post by Shalmeneser »

:idea:
Attachments
popup-cleaner-4_SHALM.FCStd
(480.32 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
Capture d’écran 2022-06-30 000958.jpg
Capture d’écran 2022-06-30 000958.jpg (80 KiB) Viewed 396 times
User avatar
bambuko
Veteran
Posts: 1549
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: See the Dimensions of the solid object

Post by bambuko »

gooddealonly wrote: Wed Jun 29, 2022 7:56 pm 1) how did you get the value to display....
I am using Link branch of FreeCAD (forked from master branch), see: https://github.com/realthunder/FreeCAD
It has new features and enhancements not always available in master.
and... sorry if it confuses :?


gooddealonly wrote: Wed Jun 29, 2022 7:56 pm 2) the Combo view model tree appears different on my newly installed FreeCAD 0.20.
Yours look much nicer. How did you get the model tree to display like that?
:mrgreen:
Apart from using Link branch I also use Dark stylesheet and have customised the panels etc.
It is all possible ;) but I guess you will need to learn to walk before you run....

gooddealonly wrote: Wed Jun 29, 2022 7:56 pm 3) Did you add the pointing red arrow?
yes -manually edited screen dump - just to point to, explain the features available

gooddealonly wrote: Wed Jun 29, 2022 8:51 pm And, how did you make the object transparent or see-through?
Apart from the link that @NewJoker has pointed to, see also:
https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Std_SelBoundingBox
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 10#p444387

mario52 wrote: Wed Jun 29, 2022 7:57 pm hi bambuko
Hi mario52 :P
In the absence of enhancements available in Link branch, your macros are excellent tools indeed.
mario52
Veteran
Posts: 3973
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: See the Dimensions of the solid object

Post by mario52 »

Hi

@bambuko thanks

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Topological_data_scripting. My macros on Gist.github here complete macros Wiki and forum.
Post Reply