FreeCAD, the SolidWorks Killer

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
theimposingdwarf

FreeCAD, the SolidWorks Killer

Post by theimposingdwarf »

Hello,

I am a Mechanical Engineer and avid CAD user. I've worked in a variety of industries including heavy industry and consumer product design. I've used SolidWorks, CREO, Inventor, SolidEdge, and Fusion360 in production environments. I dislike them all, below are some of the reasons:
  • Exorbitant Cost. Seriously. I can't even believe that a tool engineers have been using for 40 years can still cost upwards of $5k PER LICENSE for mid-tier capabilities. That doesn't even include the very expensive file management tools needed to support the package in a production environment. It is outrageous to me that in the software engineering fields, the most cutting edge technology, amazing software, can be had for almost nothing. Sure there are expensive software development tools in existence, but their need is less pronounced with the advent of open source tools and code. In many cases, they are really a "nice to have" rather than a brute requirement. Even as you get into very specialized fields such as machine learning and robotics, the capabilities that free open source software provides is astounding.
  • Locked Down File Format. I'm tired of the file format game. Each CAD vendor has their own special proprietary file format. Sometimes they are compatible/importable on a model level, but especially once you get to the drawing level there is no intercompatability or opening of other CAD systems drawings. If you want to open a file from another vendor, you either purchase their software (which is somehow always different from yours) or you import via STEP, which trashes most of the 'smartness' of the other CAD system anyway.