Air Plane Design Workbench - discussion thread

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
johnwang
Veteran
Posts: 1089
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

Re: Air Plane Design Workbench - discussion thread

Post by johnwang »

cool.

When switch to the wb, got this error:

Code: Select all

08:52:50  No module named 'freecad.plot'
08:52:50  Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 61, in Initialize
  File "D:\FreeCAD_0.19.21937_x64_LP_12.1.6_PY3QT5-WinVS2015\Mod\FreeCAD_AirPlaneDesign\airPlanePanel.py", line 33, in <module>
    from airPlaneRib import WingRib, ViewProviderWingRib
  File "D:\FreeCAD_0.19.21937_x64_LP_12.1.6_PY3QT5-WinVS2015\Mod\FreeCAD_AirPlaneDesign\airPlaneRib.py", line 43, in <module>
    import freecad.plot.Plot as Plot
OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.21937 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 0de5a290113800dc5779a76d7e216bd882e0ed1e
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
hfc series CAE workbenches for FreeCAD (hfcNastran95, hfcMystran, hfcFrame3DD, hfcSU2 and more)
a179308
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Air Plane Design Workbench - discussion thread

Post by a179308 »

johnwang wrote: Sat Jan 23, 2021 10:00 pm cool.

When switch to the wb, got this error:

Code: Select all

08:52:50  No module named 'freecad.plot'
08:52:50  Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 61, in Initialize
  File "D:\FreeCAD_0.19.21937_x64_LP_12.1.6_PY3QT5-WinVS2015\Mod\FreeCAD_AirPlaneDesign\airPlanePanel.py", line 33, in <module>
    from airPlaneRib import WingRib, ViewProviderWingRib
  File "D:\FreeCAD_0.19.21937_x64_LP_12.1.6_PY3QT5-WinVS2015\Mod\FreeCAD_AirPlaneDesign\airPlaneRib.py", line 43, in <module>
    import freecad.plot.Plot as Plot
OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.21937 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 0de5a290113800dc5779a76d7e216bd882e0ed1e
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Hi
You need to install the plot workbench.(https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Plot_Module)
Fred
User avatar
johnwang
Veteran
Posts: 1089
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

Re: Air Plane Design Workbench - discussion thread

Post by johnwang »

a179308 wrote: Sat Jan 23, 2021 10:19 pm You need to install the plot workbench.(https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Plot_Module)
Hi Fred,

My Addon Manager doesn't work. No List. Where could I download this Plot WB?

Since the Plot Workbench is a layer on top of matplotlib, could you use matplotlib directly whithout rely on another WB?

like:

Code: Select all

		import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
Regard,

John
hfc series CAE workbenches for FreeCAD (hfcNastran95, hfcMystran, hfcFrame3DD, hfcSU2 and more)
a179308
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Air Plane Design Workbench - discussion thread

Post by a179308 »

Hi
You can find all workbenchs here https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-addons
Fred
a179308
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Air Plane Design Workbench - discussion thread

Post by a179308 »

johnwang wrote: Sat Jan 23, 2021 10:25 pm
a179308 wrote: Sat Jan 23, 2021 10:19 pm You need to install the plot workbench.(https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Plot_Module)
Hi Fred,

My Addon Manager doesn't work. No List. Where could I download this Plot WB?

Since the Plot Workbench is a layer on top of matplotlib, could you use matplotlib directly whithout rely on another WB?

like:

Code: Select all

		import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
Regard,

John
Hi
Ok I will check if it possible.
Fred
User avatar
johnwang
Veteran
Posts: 1089
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

Re: Air Plane Design Workbench - discussion thread

Post by johnwang »

This is a simple x-y plot Macro

Code: Select all

import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
x=[1,2,3]
Y=[2.5,3.4,6]
plt.xlabel('Month')
plt.plot(x,Y)
plt.ylabel('Count')
plt.title("x-y plot")
fig = plt.gcf()
fig.canvas.set_window_title('bjPlot')
plt.grid(True)
plt.show()
hfc series CAE workbenches for FreeCAD (hfcNastran95, hfcMystran, hfcFrame3DD, hfcSU2 and more)
trijonb
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 24, 2021 1:07 am

Re: Air Plane Design Workbench - discussion thread

Post by trijonb »

hi there,

I am new to FreeCad, having used things like ProEngineer and SW in the distant past. I have installed the AirPlaneDesign WB, and want to make a vertical strut i.e.

I'd like the profile in the X-Y and the span in the Z-direction.

My issue is, no matter what data I provide, (custom or built in, eg NACA 0012, both of which have profile point data in the XY coords), the profile is generated in the XZ and span / extrusion in the Y.

When i check the imported point data, Y is unpopulated, X / Z are the real coords (strange because in the Import window, data is correct).

Also, when trying to rotate around various axes, i get very strange results? Units in panel say deg but perhaps its radians?

any help appreciated, I am on latest Win10 release (0.19).hopefully no one else is having this issue and its something easily fixed my side.

tx in advance
TWrecks
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 6:54 pm

Re: Air Plane Design Workbench - discussion thread

Post by TWrecks »

Is this workbench supported in FreeCAD 0.20? I'm getting the error "No module named 'freecad.plot.Plot'" when I select the "Air Plane Design" workbench.

I have the "Plot Workbench" installed, but I noticed this thread references the "Plot Module" which now redirects to the "Plot Workbench" in the Wiki.

Tim
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 12692
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Air Plane Design Workbench - discussion thread

Post by Kunda1 »

Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
johnwang
Veteran
Posts: 1089
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:41 am

Re: Air Plane Design Workbench - discussion thread

Post by johnwang »

TWrecks wrote: Tue Jun 28, 2022 2:11 am Is this workbench supported in FreeCAD 0.20? I'm getting the error "No module named 'freecad.plot.Plot'" when I select the "Air Plane Design" workbench.

I have the "Plot Workbench" installed, but I noticed this thread references the "Plot Module" which now redirects to the "Plot Workbench" in the Wiki.

Tim
I asked this last year. Now I have a quick fix, same as https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 44#p599044

Find airPlaneRib.py, change:

Code: Select all

import freecad.plot.Plot as Plot

to

Code: Select all

#import freecad.plot.Plot as Plot
from FreeCAD.Plot import Plot
The first line is commented out.

You also need to install curvedshape WB.
No need to install "Plot Workbench".

Have fun.

John
hfc series CAE workbenches for FreeCAD (hfcNastran95, hfcMystran, hfcFrame3DD, hfcSU2 and more)
Post Reply