Named dimension related bug

Report observations made with the new Toponaming branch.
Post Reply
llll
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2021 1:56 am

Named dimension related bug

Post by llll »

First error is clear to see. Thinks "CirclePos" constraint is "A1" constraint... A restart solved the problem. Had to restart twice in a day so not that uncommon an error.
FreeCADLink_ctZQPU9M0K.png
FreeCADLink_ctZQPU9M0K.png (8 KiB) Viewed 407 times
FreeCADLink_3D7LLAus5F.png
FreeCADLink_3D7LLAus5F.png (7.14 KiB) Viewed 407 times
FreeCADLink_Nc3OBBvjPC.png
FreeCADLink_Nc3OBBvjPC.png (51.57 KiB) Viewed 407 times
Second error I'm assuming is related is where there were 2 length dimensions. Both linked to the same spreadsheet cell B3 value. One dimension had a name "L1" -- left over from earlier versions. This I assume is what was causing an error where updating the cell "broke" the sketch and saw this error. Updating B3 didn't work.
NjkaB1fHTE.png
NjkaB1fHTE.png (8.65 KiB) Viewed 407 times
No it's couldn't recreate the error in another document with same sketch.

Think error was introduced in Linkdaily and error persists in main branch versions.

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 Version 2009
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 2022.430.28641 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: LinkStage3
Hash: a77045488092c24ece25d63c91f362cbd2181d36
Python version: 3.8.6+
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.0
Locale: English
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 3149
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: Named dimension related bug

Post by adrianinsaval »

File? This type of things simple cannot be verified or debugged without an example file or clear instructions to reproduce.
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 43561
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Named dimension related bug

Post by chrisb »

adrianinsaval wrote: Tue May 31, 2022 9:12 pm File? This type of things simple cannot be verified or debugged without an example file or clear instructions to reproduce.
May I correct you? "cannot be verified or debugged without an example file AND clear instructions to reproduce".
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
flachyjoe
Veteran
Posts: 1272
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 12:00 pm
Location: Limoges, France

Re: Named dimension related bug

Post by flachyjoe »

I had this bug too :
  1. Create a sketch with
    • a dimension depending a named one in the same sketch
    • some geometric constraints
  2. delete a constraint and create a new one
  3. -> Expression switch from the unamed dimension to the named one and create a cyclic dependency
Replace equality by parallelism cause the bug
Capture d’écran_2022-06-02_23-32-21.png
Capture d’écran_2022-06-02_23-32-21.png (15.13 KiB) Viewed 188 times
sketch_bug.FCStd
(4.29 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
KO:

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu Core 20 (XFCE/xubuntu)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 2022.531.14555 (Git shallow)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 2022.05.31-edge)
Hash: 36367cecc18492fec00ee01ecb2214c79a326f76
Python version: 3.8.10
Qt version: 5.15.3
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.6.2
Locale: French/France (fr_FR)
OK:

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 22.04 LTS (XFCE/xubuntu)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.
Build type: Release
Branch: unknown
Hash: 3f04bf7b4d99723809d04237002496e88aa26ed3
Python 3.10.4, Qt 5.15.3, Coin 4.0.0, OCC 7.5.1
Locale: French/France (fr_FR)
- Flachy Joe -
"Puisqu’on ne peut changer la direction du vent, il faut apprendre à orienter les voiles." Anonyme

:ugeek: Modélisations et Macros à la demande, contactez-moi en MP. :ugeek:
Post Reply