Addon Manager Dependency Update

This subforum is specifically to discuss packaging issues on different platforms (windows, mac, linux), and using different packaging systems (conda, etc...)
User avatar
chennes
Veteran
Posts: 3906
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: Addon Manager Dependency Update

Post by chennes »

Well, I'm sort of running out of ideas here :? -- I don't know what could be wrong with your build, if you are using the Windows LibPack then you've basically got the same setup I do. Under the hood the code uses the QtNetwork library, which is a pretty solid, robust piece of code, so I don't know how, if you can connect to GitHub from a browser, you can't also connect from FreeCAD. Can you try something like using Python's urllib to pull that same data? It's the the message from https://api.github.com/zen .
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
GitHub profile, LinkedIn profile, chrishennes.com
Syres
Veteran
Posts: 2899
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Addon Manager Dependency Update

Post by Syres »

chennes wrote: Fri Feb 18, 2022 8:35 pm if you are using the Windows LibPack then you've basically got the same setup I do.
But which LibPack, remember we had that situation a few weeks back where two Libpacks had the same name but we're in actual fact were very subtly different?
falviani
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 8:49 pm

Re: Addon Manager Dependency Update

Post by falviani »

Syres,

This is the version in my CMake setup:
E:/Dev/FreeCAD19_Source/FreeCADLibs_12.5.4_x64_VC17/FreeCADLibs_12.5.4_x64_VC17

as far as I know that's the most recent version. That's the version I got from the wiki, and seems to be the version on Apeltauer's github site.

-Frank
User avatar
chennes
Veteran
Posts: 3906
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: Addon Manager Dependency Update

Post by chennes »

The problem that @Syres is mentioning is that there are two non-identical LibPacks out there with the same name. But I think that was 12.5.3, not 12.5.4. And in any case it should be inconsequential to this, I don't think the version of QtNetwork is different between them.

Can you post a screenshot of your Addon manager preferences page?
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
GitHub profile, LinkedIn profile, chrishennes.com
Syres
Veteran
Posts: 2899
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Addon Manager Dependency Update

Post by Syres »

Chris, I think you're correct in that QtNetwork will be the same version but you'll notice that @falviani doesn't have Record Log Messages ticked in Preferences>General>Output window so what you're not seeing is the useful info like:

Code: Select all

07:22:15  Checking network connection...
07:22:15  QSslSocket: cannot resolve EVP_PKEY_param_check
07:22:15  QSslSocket: cannot resolve SSL_CTX_set_ciphersuites
07:22:15  QSslSocket: cannot resolve SSL_set_psk_use_session_callback
07:22:15  QSslSocket: cannot resolve SSL_SESSION_is_resumable
07:22:15  QSslSocket: cannot resolve SSL_CTX_load_verify_dir
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket: OpenSSL >= 1.1.1 is required; OpenSSL 1.1.0j  20 Nov 2018 was found instead
07:22:15  QSslSocket::connectToHostEncrypted: TLS initialization failed
07:22:15  Addon Manager: Unexpected 0 response from server
instead the output is just:

Code: Select all

07:22:15  Checking network connection...
07:22:15  Addon Manager: Unexpected 0 response from server
And yes I cheated in order to get this failure by copying the latest src\Mod\AddonManager from my Linux self compiled build over to an old Windows LP build with the known wrong OpenSSL.

Edit:spelling
falviani
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 8:49 pm

Re: Addon Manager Dependency Update

Post by falviani »

Hi Chris and Syres,

1) Turned on log messages in general preferences.
2) Got the same OpenSSL is too old errors as Syres.
3) Downloaded and installed binaries for OpenSSL 3 into the Windows directory. This was the full 'developer' version, not the minimal version.
4) Rebuilt.
5) No change - still does OpenSSL 1.1.0j.
6) Rebooted and no change - still finds OpenSSL 1.1.0j

How do I rebuild with OpenSSL 3? That's why the weekly build works for me. [note - this dependency perhaps should be made explicit in the build directions]

Thanks in advance,
Frank
Syres
Veteran
Posts: 2899
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Addon Manager Dependency Update

Post by Syres »

falviani wrote: Sat Feb 19, 2022 3:21 pm How do I rebuild with OpenSSL 3? That's why the weekly build works for me. [note - this dependency perhaps should be made explicit in the build directions]

Thanks in advance,
Frank
Thanks for confirming my suspicions, the whole idea of a LibPack is the user carrying out the compiling shouldn't need to know every single dependency so we are back to making sure that any old LibPack isn't being picked up during the compilation process. Chris will have to chime in on this because I only compile in Linux, sorry.
User avatar
chennes
Veteran
Posts: 3906
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: Addon Manager Dependency Update

Post by chennes »

I'd suggest first just deleting that old libpack, and your build directory, then making sure you have the version of the libpack at the top here:
https://github.com/apeltauer/FreeCAD/releases

It contains libssl 1.1.1l
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
GitHub profile, LinkedIn profile, chrishennes.com
Post Reply