Starts from Install Finish but not from desktop icon

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Lekes

Starts from Install Finish but not from desktop icon

Post by Lekes »

FreeCAD version 0.20.2 using Windows 10
Newbie here. Just downloaded today. At the final installation window, if I check the box "Launch FreeCAD", it starts without any issues. If I close program and try to start from the icon on my desktop, I see the mechanical image showing files are loading, then I get a big white screen with FreeCAD in upper left corner. After a short time a note appears next to it saying (Not Responding) and that's all...no further action even after waiting for 10 minutes.
I have confirmed by uninstalling a re-installing a few times. I am not very technical regarding command files, libraries, etc. Any assistance is appreciated. Thanks in advance.
adrianinsaval
Veteran

Re: Starts from Install Finish but not from desktop icon

Post by adrianinsaval »

Can you try uninstalling and checking the option to remove all data, then reinstall but do not launch from the installer, this might be a permissions issue due to FreeCAD creating config and/or cache files as admin when launched the first time from the installer
Lekes

Post by Lekes »