Is Draft workbench having problems?

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
User avatar
iplayfast
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2019 6:55 am

Is Draft workbench having problems?

Post by iplayfast »

I'm trying to use the Draft work bench and it's giving me errors. I'm not sure if it's my setup or a problem with free cad. Anyone else?

Code: Select all

<built-in function SoFieldContainer_getField> returned a result with an exception set
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 152, in Activated
  File "/home/chris/github/freecad-source/build/Mod/Draft/draftguitools/gui_snapper.py", line 1578, in show
    self.setTrackers()
  File "/home/chris/github/freecad-source/build/Mod/Draft/draftguitools/gui_snapper.py", line 1622, in setTrackers
    self.grid = trackers.gridTracker()
  File "/home/chris/github/freecad-source/build/Mod/Draft/draftguitools/gui_trackers.py", line 972, in __init__
    pick.style.setValue(coin.SoPickStyle.UNPICKABLE)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pivy/coin.py", line 3989, in __getattr__
    field = self.getField(name)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pivy/coin.py", line 3873, in getField
    return _coin.SoFieldContainer_getField(self, name)

Running the Python command 'Draft_ShapeString' failed:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/chris/github/freecad-source/build/Mod/Draft/draftguitools/gui_shapestrings.py", line 72, in Activated
    super(ShapeString, self).Activated(name="ShapeString")
  File "/home/chris/github/freecad-source/build/Mod/Draft/draftguitools/gui_base_original.py", line 287, in Activated
    super(Creator, self).Activated(name, noplanesetup)
  File "/home/chris/github/freecad-source/build/Mod/Draft/draftguitools/gui_base_original.py", line 152, in Activated
    Gui.Snapper.setTrackers()
  File "/home/chris/github/freecad-source/build/Mod/Draft/draftguitools/gui_snapper.py", line 1622, in setTrackers
    self.grid = trackers.gridTracker()
  File "/home/chris/github/freecad-source/build/Mod/Draft/draftguitools/gui_trackers.py", line 972, in __init__
    pick.style.setValue(coin.SoPickStyle.UNPICKABLE)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pivy/coin.py", line 3989, in __getattr__
    field = self.getField(name)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pivy/coin.py", line 3873, in getField
    return _coin.SoFieldContainer_getField(self, name)

Code: Select all

OS: Linux Mint 21 (X-Cinnamon/cinnamon)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.21.0.31554 (Git)
Build type: Unknown
Branch: master
Hash: 28c757bc1228026c450a89a155f19759c7f09d7e
Python 3.10.6, Qt 5.15.3, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.1.0, OCC 7.5.1
Locale: English/Canada (en_CA)
Installed mods: 
  * Plot 1.0.4
  * dummy.py
  * BOLTSFC
  * BIM 2021.12.0
  * CycloidGearBox
  * gbNov8.stl
  * workfeature
  * fcgear 1.0.0
  * parts_library
  * FreeCAD_assembly3 0.11.2
  * cycdisk.stl
  * CurvedShapes 1.0.4
  * Manipulator 1.4.9
  * gbNov8.FCStd
  * SelectorToolbar
  * EM
  * Assembly4 1.0.4
  * ThreadProfile 0.12.5
  * sheetmetal 0.2.60
  * pindisk.stl
  * testdisk.log
  * 3D_Printing_Tools
  * es.stl
  * kicadStepUpMod 10.16.8
  * ose-workbench-core
  * ExplodedAssembly
  * FCGear 1.0.0
  * OSE3dPrinter
  * RemBench
  * retr3d
  * A2plus 0.4.60h
  * LCInterlocking
  * Mechatronic
  * Design456 0.0.1
  * PieMenu
  * drivdisk.stl
  * Mechatronic1
  * symbols_library
  * Help 1.0.3
  * FeedsAndSpeeds 0.5.0
  * Pyramids-and-Polyhedrons
  * workfeature-macro
  * ose-piping-workbench
  * Nikra-DAP
  * fasteners 0.4.52
  * Lattice2 1.0.0
User avatar
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 5553
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: Is Draft workbench having problems?

Post by adrianinsaval »

did you install using the ppa? appimage/flatpak/snap are more recommended nowadays because the ppa is not very actively maintained anymore, specifically here I think the problem is that ubuntu (and by etension Mint) ship an older version of pivy that is incompatible with python 3.10, see https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=75078
User avatar
iplayfast
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2019 6:55 am

Re: Is Draft workbench having problems?

Post by iplayfast »

No, I'm building it myself. So this would be a recent change.
I'll probably run git bisect to figure out who to blame, I was just wondering if anyone else saw it before I get busy.
Post Reply