0.21 topo build

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
drmacro
Veteran
Posts: 8865
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

0.21 topo build

Post by drmacro »

When I do a git pull on the toponaming branch I get the following:

Code: Select all

remote: Enumerating objects: 48, done.
remote: Counting objects: 100% (48/48), done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (22/22), done.
remote: Total 48 (delta 31), reused 40 (delta 26), pack-reused 0
Unpacking objects: 100% (48/48), 88.80 KiB | 1.34 MiB/s, done.
From https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD
   19a69df0fc..a88f69a9f0  master     -> origin/master
fatal: Not possible to fast-forward, aborting.
Does the fatal message mean I'm not getting the latest source of the branch?
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."
User avatar
onekk
Veteran
Posts: 6144
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 7:48 am
Contact:

Re: 0.21 topo build

Post by onekk »

drmacro wrote: Sat Jul 02, 2022 2:16 pm ...
fatal: Not possible to fast-forward, aborting.
[/code]

Does the fatal message mean I'm not getting the latest source of the branch?

Probably is telling you that "fast forwarding" is not feasible, so you must use another way of "pulling and merging".

I'm not a git expert, usually this is caused by some incompatibilities with local version and remote version, but usually git will tell you also what has gone wrong.

Usually in the worse case, if I have not modified locally some files, i simply delete "local directory" and clone again, some bandwidth will be wasted, but usually it will save some time, as if you have to "manual merge" many files it is time consuming.

Hope it helps

Regards

Carlo D.
GitHub page: https://github.com/onekk/freecad-doc.
- In deep articles on FreeCAD.
- Learning how to model with scripting.
- Various other stuffs.

Blog: https://okkmkblog.wordpress.com/
User avatar
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 5541
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: 0.21 topo build

Post by adrianinsaval »

Right now the toponaming branch is basically the same as master but a little outdated and whit a different readme file so it's not worth building IMO.
I'm guessing the toponaming branch got rebased somewhere along the way and that's why you get that error, you can do

Code: Select all

git reset --hard origin/development/toponaming 
You will lose any local change you made though
drmacro
Veteran
Posts: 8865
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: 0.21 topo build

Post by drmacro »

I had previously gotten the out as noted here: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... st+forward

I followed the suggestion at the end of that thread at that point.

It appeared ok after that.

Until today I noticed the out as noted in the OP.

Since I have no local changes to the branch, I have issued the above mentioned:

Code: Select all

git reset --hard origin/development/toponaming
And it did get the new readme and no errors...

Thanks for the replies.
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."
Post Reply