Heads Up: qt5.15.5 has bug

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 3050
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: Heads Up: qt5.15.5 has bug

Post by adrianinsaval »

they made a big announcement about the open source release, I don't know how anybody could miss it: https://lists.qt-project.org/pipermail/ ... 42659.html
(sarcasm obviously)
User avatar
Gift
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:08 am
Location: Germany, Sauerland

Re: Heads Up: qt5.15.5 has bug

Post by Gift »

adrianinsaval wrote: Fri Jul 01, 2022 3:54 pm
they made a big announcement about the open source release, I don't know how anybody could miss it: https://lists.qt-project.org/pipermail/ ... 42659.html
(sarcasm obviously)
I thought you meant 5.15.10. As I said, I misread the first post. Sorry.
User avatar
Gift
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:08 am
Location: Germany, Sauerland

Re: Heads Up: qt5.15.5 has bug

Post by Gift »

FreddyFreddy wrote: Thu Jun 30, 2022 3:48 pm qt 5.15.5 was released to the rest of us a couple of weeks (?) ago and is now the default qt5 version on brew.

QtWebEngineCoreConfig.cmake has a hard-coded version of 5.15.10 which means version comparisons fail - chucking up errors.

I copied 5.15.3 from backup and that worked as expected.

May I leave it to someone else to verify and persue the powers that be?
I don't know what you're working on. Temporarily you can use "-DBUILD_WEB=OFF".

Code: Select all

OS: macOS 12.4
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.21.29388 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: a88f69a9f0353955d9e94b78d88eeebf6567a685
Python 3.10.2, Qt 5.15.5, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.1.0, OCC 7.6.2
Locale: C/Default (C)
Installed mods: 
  * Curves 0.4.3
chennes wrote: Fri Jul 01, 2022 1:58 pm I ran into this earlier this week -- my solution was to edit the QtWebEngineCoreConfig.cmake file to fix the specified version number. After that CMake ran fine. Actually compiling FreeCAD via Homebrew libraries right now is not working correctly for me, I can get the Makefiles working, but not XCode.
Can you share your cmake fix? I will try later with -DBUILD_WEB=ON
User avatar
Gift
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:08 am
Location: Germany, Sauerland

Re: Heads Up: qt5.15.5 has bug

Post by Gift »

1. qtwebengine version conflict

PR #105090
This article was helpful. Now it is possible to build a DMG for Apple Silicon with Start WB. Download.

2. Update shiboken & pyside2

Ticket 328. I will create PRs next days.
User avatar
Gift
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:08 am
Location: Germany, Sauerland

Re: Heads Up: qt5.15.5 has bug

Post by Gift »

Gift wrote: Mon Jul 04, 2022 8:29 pm 1. qtwebengine version conflict

PR #105090
This article was helpful. Now it is possible to build a DMG for Apple Silicon with Start WB. Download.

2. Update shiboken & pyside2

Ticket 328. I will create PRs next days.

1. qtwebengine version conflict


Is solved. The PR is merged.

2. Update shiboken & pyside2

Shiboken is soveled & merged.
Pyside2 is currently open.
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 12691
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Heads Up: qt5.15.5 has bug

Post by Kunda1 »

@Gift nice progress!!!
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Gift
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:08 am
Location: Germany, Sauerland

Re: Heads Up: qt5.15.5 has bug

Post by Gift »

Kunda1 wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 2:05 pm @Gift nice progress!!!
Thank you. :)
Post Reply