Adding Drawing Dimensioning

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Post Reply
karinannfl
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 02, 2022 12:00 am

Adding Drawing Dimensioning

Post by karinannfl »

Hello:
I am trying to add the Drawing Dimension addon to my Freecad 0.15 version running on an XP machine. I did this some time ago, but had to reload Freecac 0.15 because of some issues with my computer. Unfortunately the re-install wiped out the Drawing Dimension addon. So I have been trying unsuccessfully to re-install Drawing Dimension. I went to the github site https://github.com/hamish2014/FreeCAD_d ... mensioning and clicked on CODE and downloaded the zip file. I unzipped the file in new directory, and this where things go wrong. The unzip worked OK but now I am confused as to what to copy over to the C:/Program Files/FreeCAD 0.15/Mod/DrawingDimensioning folder. Can anyone help explain to me what I am doing wrong???
Thank you,
Karin Anne Johnson
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 3051
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: Adding Drawing Dimensioning

Post by adrianinsaval »

copy the entire folder into the Mod directory, you can also install at the user level instead of at the system level, see https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Installing_ ... ingle_user
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 43406
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Adding Drawing Dimensioning

Post by chrisb »

I hope you have good reasons to use FreeCAD 0.15. We have now 0.20 and things have massively improved. If you use PartDesign, you have to learn a new workflow though.
If you really want to stay with the old style of modeling, you should at least update to the latest 0.16.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
karinannfl
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 02, 2022 12:00 am

Re: Adding Drawing Dimensioning

Post by karinannfl »

Thank you both for the speedy reply. I managed to figure out what I was doing wrong. I did find a YouTube video that showed the correct procedure and followed it to successfully install the addon. I have a Windows 7 machine that I have FreeCAD 0.20 running on, but I don't like to use it too much as
the screen size on my laptop Windows 7 machine is a bit too small and it gets crowded with all of the icons showing. Probably need a separate monitor for that machine.
Thanks again to the forum folks.

Karin
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 3051
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: Adding Drawing Dimensioning

Post by adrianinsaval »

chrisb wrote: Tue Jun 21, 2022 6:55 am If you use PartDesign, you have to learn a new workflow though.
also drawing dimensioning wb doesn't work on 0.20 and drawing workbench is considered deprecated
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 43406
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Adding Drawing Dimensioning

Post by chrisb »

adrianinsaval wrote: Tue Jun 21, 2022 2:50 pm also drawing dimensioning wb doesn't work on 0.20 and drawing workbench is considered deprecated
Oh yes, of course. I forgot to mention that. But there is now the great TechDraw workbench as a better replacement - which you most probably know, if you have used 0.20.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
Post Reply