FreeCAD on Mac M1?

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
edwilliams16
Veteran
Posts: 3112
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 10:31 pm
Location: Hawaii
Contact:

FreeCAD on Mac M1?

Post by edwilliams16 »

I suspect the answer may be buried in the long BIg Sur thread, but what is the status of FreeCAD on an M1 Mac?


I'm in the market for a new Mac having spilt a Pesi on the keyboard of my 17" MacBook Pro from 2010. I may be able to replace the keyboard, but even Ifixit classifies it as "difficult". (Apple wants $700 to replace it. Part cost is $15!).
edwilliams16
Veteran
Posts: 3112
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 10:31 pm
Location: Hawaii
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD on Mac M1?

Post by edwilliams16 »

I've got FreeCAD running using Rosetta2 on the m1 Macbook Air :) Here's a way to do it:

1. Install Xcode.
2. Open terminal and follow these commands:
3. arch -x86_64 /bin/bash -c "$(curl -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homeb ... install.sh)"
3. arch -x86_64 brew tap freecad/freecad
4. arch -x86_64 brew install -s opencascade
5. arch -x86_64 brew install -s freecad
6. freecad


I found the above, allowing installation under Rosetta 2 emulation. What version of FreeCAD does that install?
User avatar
chennes
Veteran
Posts: 3884
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD on Mac M1?

Post by chennes »

That paste is not including the full homebrew path, but if it's the normal tap for FreeCAD, then I believe it's currently set at a 0.19 prerelease git commit f35d30bc58cc2000754d4f30cf29d063416cfb9e.
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
GitHub profile, LinkedIn profile, chrishennes.com
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 53933
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: FreeCAD on Mac M1?

Post by chrisb »

edwilliams16 wrote: Tue Mar 23, 2021 12:14 am 3. arch -x86_64 /bin/bash -c "$(curl -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homeb ... install.sh)"
3. arch -x86_64 brew tap freecad/freecad
4. arch -x86_64 brew install -s opencascade
5. arch -x86_64 brew install -s freecad
6. freecad[/i]
If you put the commands in code tags using the button </> the URL is preserved.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
edwilliams16
Veteran
Posts: 3112
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 10:31 pm
Location: Hawaii
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD on Mac M1?

Post by edwilliams16 »

Thanks Chris
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 53933
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: FreeCAD on Mac M1?

Post by chrisb »

Here is the corrected code from this post https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 89#p449089
1. Install Xcode.
2. Open terminal and follow these commands:

Code: Select all

arch -x86_64 /bin/bash -c "$(curl -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install.sh)"
arch -x86_64 brew tap freecad/freecad
arch -x86_64 brew install -s opencascade
arch -x86_64 brew install -s freecad
freecad
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
bernardvienna
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2021 4:50 pm
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD on Mac M1?

Post by bernardvienna »

i actually just wanted to try freecad on my new m1 computer. then i got an error message that the developer could not be verified. well, there must be a way... i thought. and found these instructions.

in any case, i have now spent 12 hours installing 30gb of data for xcode, crashed my computer several times because something is wrong with opencascade.

this nice short tutorial doesn't seem to be meant for me. i just wanted to try the software....
Last edited by bernardvienna on Sat Aug 14, 2021 6:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: FreeCAD on Mac M1?

Post by Kunda1 »

Please don't give up. Report the error here or in the https://github.com/FreeCAD/homebrew-freecad/issues
Also, remember that macOS has made it very challenging for opensource projects to be compatible with it...perhaps not a coincidence?
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 5541
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: FreeCAD on Mac M1?

Post by adrianinsaval »

bernardvienna wrote: Sat Aug 14, 2021 4:57 pm i actually just wanted to try freecad on my new m1 computer. then i got an error message that the developer could not be verified. well, there must be a way... i thought. and found these instructions.
I assume you just want to use the precompiled version? did you try the instructions from the github releases page? https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/releases/tag/0.19.2
NOTE: .app is not signed and will not run on MacOS out of the box.
After opening the download, drag the app into your Applications folder (if you already have FreeCAD in there, it is possible to keep both)
When you open the new version, you will get a pop-up saying that it cannot be verified. Do not Move to Bin, simply click Cancel or press Escape key.
Then go to System Preferences > Security and Privacy > General and at the lower part you will see that FreeCAD was blocked from use because it is not from an identified developer
Click the option to Open Anyway
When prompted to confirm, choose Open
User avatar
Gift
Posts: 769
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:08 am
Location: Germany, Sauerland

Re: FreeCAD on Mac M1?

Post by Gift »

If you want to try native Image: FreeCAD_0.20.25491.

Code: Select all

import platform
platform.platform()
Post Reply