Advanced (Sub-Object) Shape Binder Tutorial - The Power of Shape Binders! (26min)

A place to share learning material: written tutorials, videos, etc.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
quiret

Advanced (Sub-Object) Shape Binder Tutorial - The Power of Shape Binders! (26min)

Post by quiret »

Watch this tutorial/demonstration with great care. It contains advanced modelling techniques that are useful for precise parametric modelling. If you are an absolute beginner you may want to prep yourself before watching.

phpBB [video]

Resources:
- https://green-candy.osdn.jp/external/fo ... sure.FCStd
- https://green-candy.osdn.jp/external/fo ... dadv.FCStd
- https://green-candy.osdn.jp/external/fo ... mbed.FCStd
- https://green-candy.osdn.jp/external/fo ... head.FCStd

Relevant links for research:
- https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?t=53015 (idea for the dynamic surface projection)
- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MCY5IrWrHrU (another tutorial)
- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=255ohvhEU9E (another tutorial)
chrisb
Veteran

Re: Advanced (Sub-Object) Shape Binder Tutorial - The Power of Shape Binders! (26min)

Post by chrisb »

I admit that I haven't watched the whole video, because I didn't want to spend more time after nearly 7 minutes for several reasons, at least one of them rather personally biased.

1) This is just a personal view, but I think a good video should speek for itself and doesn't need blatant advertising such as a promise to show until now unseen things (0:30).

2) You should follow the guidelines given in the video subforum. We often see help requests about videos based on an utterly outdated FreeCAD version. Thus you should show your FreeCAD infos in the video.

3) Keep your wording proper and use the well established FreeCAD notions, so a ShapeBinder is not what we call a feature. I understand that you use it sometimes in a more general way, but that's not helpful here.