[SOLVED] Dimensioning and rescaling a design

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
User avatar
kaktus
Posts: 719
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:59 am
Location: opolskie
Contact:

[SOLVED] Dimensioning and rescaling a design

Post by kaktus »

Hi.
:mrgreen:

Once again, I found a minor (or not) anomaly. :roll:

I prepared a page with a view of the projections and applied some dimensions.
.
skala_1-10_Screenshot_20220616_090254.png
skala_1-10_Screenshot_20220616_090254.png (254.47 KiB) Viewed 641 times
.
Then I found that I can change the scale of the object because there is still room on the page.

After changing the scale I was surprised with the result.
.
skala_1-7_Screenshot_20220616_092034.png
skala_1-7_Screenshot_20220616_092034.png (226.28 KiB) Viewed 641 times
.
The problem occurs in different drawings and is repeatable.
The anomaly concerns "Insert Projection Group" for "View" I was not able to duplicate it.

The version of FreeCAD I am using is:

Code: Select all

OS: Debian GNU/Linux bookworm/sid (KDE/plasma)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.29085 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 1e96bbd)
Hash: 1e96bbd2815683d6afa0afe8f985cdd04ef839fe
Python 3.10.4, Qt 5.12.9, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.1.0, OCC 7.5.3
Locale: Polish/Poland (pl_PL)
Last edited by kaktus on Mon Aug 01, 2022 4:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
wierny padawan mistrza arturromarr
Twórca polskiej wersji Wiki dla FreeCAD, współwórca polskiej wersji GUI.
"Cierpliwym być musisz, by wiedzę zgłębiać tajemną, gdyż ciemna strona mocy niszczącą i silną jest".
User avatar
kaktus
Posts: 719
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:59 am
Location: opolskie
Contact:

Re: Dimensioning and rescaling a design

Post by kaktus »

After restarting FreeCAD, the dimensions are in the correct location. 8-)

:idea:

Previously, the Refresh button was not active.
wierny padawan mistrza arturromarr
Twórca polskiej wersji Wiki dla FreeCAD, współwórca polskiej wersji GUI.
"Cierpliwym być musisz, by wiedzę zgłębiać tajemną, gdyż ciemna strona mocy niszczącą i silną jest".
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Dimensioning and rescaling a design

Post by wandererfan »

kaktus wrote: Thu Jun 16, 2022 8:26 am After changing the scale I was surprised with the result.
Hard to be sure without the file, but it looks like you have a pending recompute. Closing and reopening would have recomputed everything.
pendingRecompute.png
pendingRecompute.png (16.7 KiB) Viewed 540 times
If you can share the file, I can try to find out why the recompute doesn't happen automatically.
User avatar
kaktus
Posts: 719
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:59 am
Location: opolskie
Contact:

Re: Dimensioning and rescaling a design

Post by kaktus »

No problem. I added my project to the message.
However, note that I wrote - this happens for every project file. And that the Refresch button is grayed out. :idea:
Attachments
parasol_ogrodowy_zerdka_detale.FCStd
(45.43 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
wierny padawan mistrza arturromarr
Twórca polskiej wersji Wiki dla FreeCAD, współwórca polskiej wersji GUI.
"Cierpliwym być musisz, by wiedzę zgłębiać tajemną, gdyż ciemna strona mocy niszczącą i silną jest".
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Dimensioning and rescaling a design

Post by wandererfan »

kaktus wrote: Fri Jun 17, 2022 4:17 am No problem. I added my project to the message.
Thanks for the file. The dimensions are not being recomputed on change of scale in the parent view.

TechDraw_RedrawPage seems to fix it, but this should happen automatically.
User avatar
kaktus
Posts: 719
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:59 am
Location: opolskie
Contact:

Re: Dimensioning and rescaling a design

Post by kaktus »

Image Yeah this tool does a good job. :mrgreen:
Is it possible to not have to click on this icon and refresh the view automatically :?: The view tool has no such side effects ...

Clicking on TechDraw RedrawPage is a workaround.
wierny padawan mistrza arturromarr
Twórca polskiej wersji Wiki dla FreeCAD, współwórca polskiej wersji GUI.
"Cierpliwym być musisz, by wiedzę zgłębiać tajemną, gdyż ciemna strona mocy niszczącą i silną jest".
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Dimensioning and rescaling a design

Post by wandererfan »

kaktus wrote: Fri Jun 17, 2022 2:46 pm Is it possible to not have to click on this icon and refresh the view automatically
Should be fixed by git commit 4b47d38eb6
User avatar
kaktus
Posts: 719
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:59 am
Location: opolskie
Contact:

Re: Dimensioning and rescaling a design

Post by kaktus »

Woow

I'm delighted. :mrgreen:
wierny padawan mistrza arturromarr
Twórca polskiej wersji Wiki dla FreeCAD, współwórca polskiej wersji GUI.
"Cierpliwym być musisz, by wiedzę zgłębiać tajemną, gdyż ciemna strona mocy niszczącą i silną jest".
Yruon
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:49 pm

Re: Dimensioning and rescaling a design

Post by Yruon »

Hello there, :)

I'm sorry if this topics is already open but i can't find it.
I'm actually making a TechDraw of a part. But when i want to rescale it, i just can't. The problem is that the value is in grey, can't use my keyboard, can't use the arrows on the right, can't even use the functional tool.
Probleme_echelle.PNG
Probleme_echelle.PNG (50.63 KiB) Viewed 254 times
I tried to check and uncheck the "ReadOnly" tool after right clicking on it, then i can change de the value as i want, but there is no changement between a scal of 1.00 and a one of 0.30 ... :?:
Probleme_echelle_3.JPG
Probleme_echelle_3.JPG (24.13 KiB) Viewed 254 times
I also got this error message :
Probleme_echelle_2.PNG
Probleme_echelle_2.PNG (19.77 KiB) Viewed 254 times
Somehting to notice : The part was designed on FreeCAD0.19, and i update to 0.20 to make the TechDraw.
I also tried to install and uninstall the soft, remake the part from 0 on the 0.20 FreeCAD Version. Nothing change.
Last edited by Yruon on Tue Jun 21, 2022 1:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Dimensioning and rescaling a design

Post by wandererfan »

Yruon wrote: Tue Jun 21, 2022 1:02 pm I'm sorry if this topics is already open but i can't find it.
I'm actually making a TechDraw of a part. But when i want to rescale it, i just can't. The problem is that the value is in grey, can't use my keyboard, can't use the arrows on the right, can't even use the functional tool.
You have ScaleType set to Page which means the view should use the Scale value from the Page. You can either change the Page's Scale property or set ScaleType to Custom, then set the View's Scale as you wish.
Post Reply