Lock position

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
Post Reply

adding a switch for the Lock position function is a good idea

Poll ended at Sat Jul 02, 2022 10:00 am

It will be an amazing convenience...
11
85%
leave it in the Data tab, it is unnecessary.
2
15%
 
Total votes: 13

User avatar
kaktus
Posts: 719
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:59 am
Location: opolskie
Contact:

Lock position

Post by kaktus »

:mrgreen:

The Lock position function is very helpful in many cases.

However, it is deeply hidden and not available directly.
.
lock_position.png
lock_position.png (343.55 KiB) Viewed 647 times

I have an idea to add a toggle to it in the popup menu activated after clicking on the projection image :idea:

In order to find out the predisposition of other users in this regard, we can make a survey. :D
The survey will be open 3 weeks until July 3.
Last edited by kaktus on Sat Jun 25, 2022 9:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
wierny padawan mistrza arturromarr
Twórca polskiej wersji Wiki dla FreeCAD, współwórca polskiej wersji GUI.
"Cierpliwym być musisz, by wiedzę zgłębiać tajemną, gdyż ciemna strona mocy niszczącą i silną jest".
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 4785
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Lock position

Post by wandererfan »

TechDraw_ExtensionLockUnlockView

I'm not completely happy with the current context menu. Toggle Frames and Toggle Keep Up To Date are fine, but there are probably more useful functions than the 3 export options.

The current context menu works at the Page level. We would need a View level context menu to implement a toggle for Lock Position.

Very open to suggestions for context menu items.
User avatar
kaktus
Posts: 719
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:59 am
Location: opolskie
Contact:

Re: Lock position

Post by kaktus »

It would be useful to have an icon next to each context menu item informing whether the function is currently enabled or not.
;)
wierny padawan mistrza arturromarr
Twórca polskiej wersji Wiki dla FreeCAD, współwórca polskiej wersji GUI.
"Cierpliwym być musisz, by wiedzę zgłębiać tajemną, gdyż ciemna strona mocy niszczącą i silną jest".
User avatar
kaktus
Posts: 719
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:59 am
Location: opolskie
Contact:

Re: Lock position

Post by kaktus »

My suggestion for another option in the popup menu when you click on the projection image:

Add / edit the projection caption.

after using this option the user could enter a label for each of the projection. It would be displayed in place of the internal signature "Top" "Front" "Right" etc.
The default value could be this internal name. The default label can be made available to translators. ;)
wierny padawan mistrza arturromarr
Twórca polskiej wersji Wiki dla FreeCAD, współwórca polskiej wersji GUI.
"Cierpliwym być musisz, by wiedzę zgłębiać tajemną, gdyż ciemna strona mocy niszczącą i silną jest".
User avatar
kaktus
Posts: 719
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:59 am
Location: opolskie
Contact:

Re: Lock position

Post by kaktus »

I invite you all to vote :mrgreen:
wierny padawan mistrza arturromarr
Twórca polskiej wersji Wiki dla FreeCAD, współwórca polskiej wersji GUI.
"Cierpliwym być musisz, by wiedzę zgłębiać tajemną, gdyż ciemna strona mocy niszczącą i silną jest".
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 43561
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Lock position

Post by chrisb »

I use this function rarely, so for me it can stay where it is. It wouldn't hurt me though if it was available in a context menu.

You shouldn't call it a "hidden" property in the poll, because it is not actively hidden in the technical FreeCAD sense, where it would only be visible on "Show all". So you would better say something like "leave it in the Data tab".
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
kaktus
Posts: 719
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:59 am
Location: opolskie
Contact:

Re: Lock position

Post by kaktus »

I managed to correct the survey :D
wierny padawan mistrza arturromarr
Twórca polskiej wersji Wiki dla FreeCAD, współwórca polskiej wersji GUI.
"Cierpliwym być musisz, by wiedzę zgłębiać tajemną, gdyż ciemna strona mocy niszczącą i silną jest".
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 43561
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Lock position

Post by chrisb »

kaktus wrote: Sat Jun 25, 2022 9:46 am I managed to correct the survey :D
Thanks. To be clear: I wouldn't rate the property as unneccesary, only a change where it can be changed is unnecessary for me.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
kaktus
Posts: 719
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:59 am
Location: opolskie
Contact:

Re: Lock position

Post by kaktus »

In my opinion, the "Change Appearance of Lines" tool could also be placed in the pop-up menu.

The availability of these tools (whether they are active) would depend on what object is currently selected.

That is, I propose to add two items to the pop-up menu:
  1. Change Appearance of Lines
  2. Lock position

In addition, in the menu it will be helpful to mark whether the option is currently active, of course, if the option has the ability to switch (on / off).

See the image below:
documents window -> docked
123.png
123.png (67.9 KiB) Viewed 219 times
wierny padawan mistrza arturromarr
Twórca polskiej wersji Wiki dla FreeCAD, współwórca polskiej wersji GUI.
"Cierpliwym być musisz, by wiedzę zgłębiać tajemną, gdyż ciemna strona mocy niszczącą i silną jest".
Post Reply