[SOLVED] GeoConvert::Surface2BSpline() - infinite surface

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
Post Reply
PAS_Drafter
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2021 6:29 am

[SOLVED] GeoConvert::Surface2BSpline() - infinite surface

Post by PAS_Drafter »

I am using TechDraw to put together some drawings for my manufacturer. The drawings were of an Assembly4 object. I had created separate pages of each view for them. When I originally created them, everything looked good and worked. I then saved the file closed FreeCAD and came back to the drawings later.

When I did, a number of the pages started giving me an error "GeoConvert::Surface2BSpline() - infinite surface" for the various views. I tried deleting and recreating multiple times, restarting, etc. to get it to work, but I could not figure out why it all of the sudden seemed broken.

I did a search for the error and didn't find much, but I did find one page in the Assembly forum that had it.
Zolko wrote: Mon May 17, 2021 1:25 pm
LSoltmann wrote: Mon May 17, 2021 1:05 pm 'GeomConvert::SurfaceToBSplineSurface() - Infinite surface'.
...
It appears that wrapping the PartDesign body in the Assembly4 container is causing the issue.
Nah, that works well. You might have a datum plane or axis (that would indeed have an infinite dimension). If so, try to hide it, or to set its size to "manual".
I did not have any datum planes active. However I did go back and find that one of my LCS axis was on. I hid the axis and went back to Techdraw WB and and recalculated. That solved all the errors.

I just wanted to pass on what I learned about the LCS when working with Assembly4 for others in case they ran into this error. It would be nice if Techdraw WB would ignore these though so it didn't try drawing them in the first place.
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 4785
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: [SOLVED] GeoConvert::Surface2BSpline() - infinite surface

Post by wandererfan »

PAS_Drafter wrote: Sun Jun 05, 2022 12:18 am I just wanted to pass on what I learned about the LCS when working with Assembly4 for others in case they ran into this error. It would be nice if Techdraw WB would ignore these though so it didn't try drawing them in the first place.
This is issue #6655.

What version are you using?

git commit 7c24e54704 implemented a work-around for this around the end of March. If you are still encountering problems with a recent version, we will need to revisit the work-around.
PAS_Drafter
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2021 6:29 am

Re: [SOLVED] GeoConvert::Surface2BSpline() - infinite surface

Post by PAS_Drafter »

wandererfan wrote: Sun Jun 05, 2022 2:39 pm What version are you using?
Sorry, forgot to add that to my message.

OS: Windows 10 Version 2009
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.24267 +99 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: Branch_0.19.3
Hash: 6530e364184ce05ccff39501e175cf2237e6ee4b
Python version: 3.8.6+
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.3
Locale: English/United States (en_US)

Glad to see it will be/is fixed. I've been patiently. waiting for the next release.
aapo
Posts: 445
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 6:41 pm

Re: [SOLVED] GeoConvert::Surface2BSpline() - infinite surface

Post by aapo »

PAS_Drafter wrote: Sun Jun 05, 2022 6:35 pm Glad to see it will be/is fixed. I've been patiently. waiting for the next release.
If you want to test the fix, you can download weekly-built prereleases from here:

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-Bund ... kly-builds
PAS_Drafter
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2021 6:29 am

Re: [SOLVED] GeoConvert::Surface2BSpline() - infinite surface

Post by PAS_Drafter »

wandererfan wrote: Sun Jun 05, 2022 2:39 pm What version are you using?

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 Version 2009
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.29177 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-20
Hash: 68e337670e227889217652ddac593c93b5e8dc94
Python 3.8.10, Qt 5.15.2, Coin 4.0.1, Vtk 8.2.0, OCC 7.6.2
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Installed mods: 
  * Assembly4 0.12.0
  * Curves 0.4.4
  * ExplodedAssembly
  * fasteners 0.3.45
  * Manipulator 1.4.5
  * MOOC 2022.4.21
  * OpticsWorkbench 1.0.8
  * sheetmetal 0.2.49
  * ToolViewReverse_ToolBar
I just wanted to pass on that I've upgraded to v.20 and this issue with the LCS causing the infinite surface is still happening for me. I know how to "fix" it now so I can at least keep working without redrawing everything, but I wanted to pass on that v.20 doesn't seem to have prevented it from happeing.
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 4785
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: [SOLVED] GeoConvert::Surface2BSpline() - infinite surface

Post by wandererfan »

PAS_Drafter wrote: Tue Jun 28, 2022 6:04 pm I just wanted to pass on that I've upgraded to v.20 and this issue with the LCS causing the infinite surface is still happening for me. I know how to "fix" it now so I can at least keep working without redrawing everything, but I wanted to pass on that v.20 doesn't seem to have prevented it from happeing.
The fix I spoke of only addresses the handling of the infinite shape within TD. If you have an example where TD is not handling this appropriately, I'd appreciate a copy so I can debug.
PAS_Drafter
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2021 6:29 am

Re: [SOLVED] GeoConvert::Surface2BSpline() - infinite surface

Post by PAS_Drafter »

wandererfan wrote: Tue Jun 28, 2022 10:33 pm If you have an example where TD is not handling this appropriately, I'd appreciate a copy so I can debug.
I've got to head out of town for a few days. I'll try getting you a file that does it when I return. Most of my stuff is large assemblies where I run into the problem. I'll have one of the LCS deep in the assembly still turned on somewhere and when I try to TD the whole assembly at that point, it gives me that error

I'll see if I can duplicate the error on a simple file and get it to you.

Thanks for looking into it.
Post Reply