FreeCAD Orbit styles

A forum for research and development of the user interface of FreeCAD
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
gbParametric

FreeCAD Orbit styles

Post by gbParametric »

Hey everybody, I'm new to this forum, this is my first post actually,
so if I'm saying or formating something wrong, I wanna say sorry beforehand .

Some context (where im comming from)

I'm structural engineer, I have been working in this field for around 10 years.
I have worked on most of popular CAD programms in the field (AutoCAD,ArchiCad,Revit,Tekla Structures,Rhino3d And some FEM applcations).
I still have alot to learn but I feel like I have decent grip on these programms and how they work.
I have been learning coding for past few years on and off, and been developing some plugins in Rhino3d(Grasshopper) and Tekla Structures.

The problem what im having

Both orbit styles (Turntable and Trackball) feel unresponsive to work with.
I almost dropped the idea of learning FreeCAD and joining this community, because of this.
But then I decieded to try and fix the problems that I'm having.

Trackball

When working in this mode, I always end up with the view, that has scewed horizon, which really messes up my
workflow, because I have to readjust the view.
Capture1.PNG
Capture1.PNG (141.94 KiB) Viewed 1155 times
Turntable

This mode feels like the program itself is lagging. When I hold my rotation button, and move the mouse diagonally,
the view rotates either around horizontal or by vertical axis but not by both, and to make things worse it switches between them both.
While working on this mode I kinda got used to it after some hours, but it still could be a dealbreaker for some people.

You can see in this gif, that when when i rotate around the view is stuttering abit
(Switching between rotation around vertical and horizontal axis)
The solution I made for myself

Beforehand, keep in mind that my knowledge in coding and qaternions is limited,