New User - Step-by-Step introduction to make a part/project?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
mpyusko

New User - Step-by-Step introduction to make a part/project?

Post by mpyusko »

I'm new to CAD/CAM. Never really used it before but always wanted to learn. But for a home user that can't afford to shell out hundreds or thousands of dollars on a commercially available program, I haven't had any real options... until now. I was wondering if there is a New User Tutorial that covers how to make your first part/project using FreeCAD. All the documentation I've been able to find seems to be written on the premise that the user already has a working knowledge of CAD/CAM. Something with click-by-click instructions to get me off the ground would be nice. I tried downloading some parts in .wrl format to tinker and modify them, but I honestly can't seem to figure it out. Not even sure if that's even the right thing to do. For someone who aspires to be a ME, this is quite frustrating.

For my first project I want to design a workbench using angle, rectangular tube and plate steel with a vise. Seems to me pretty basic. But honestly click-by-click instructions that would show me the basics on how to create anything would be nice.

Thanks.
NormandC
Veteran

Re: New User - Step-by-Step introduction to make a part/project?

Post by NormandC »

Hi mpyusko!

Unfortunately, there is no step-by-step tuturial that I know of. The FreeCAD development team is very small, there are 3 guys working on the project on their spare time. Two of them are programmers by trade, and programmers are not known to like writing documentation much. :lol: Then there are others who contribute sporadically.