[Solved] Sketcher CreatePolyline mode cycle shortcut

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
thyssentishman
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon May 16, 2022 10:35 am

[Solved] Sketcher CreatePolyline mode cycle shortcut

Post by thyssentishman »

Hi all,

for some reason when I use the CreatePolyline tool in the Sketcher WB I can only cycle through its different modes using the Shift+M key combination even though the tool hint and corresponding wiki page instruct only using the M key.

Is this normal?

Kind regards,
Johannes

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 Version 2009
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.29177 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-20
Hash: 68e337670e227889217652ddac593c93b5e8dc94
Python 3.8.10, Qt 5.15.2, Coin 4.0.1, Vtk 8.2.0, OCC 7.6.2
Locale: English/United States (en_US) [ OS: English/United States (en_US) ]
Installed mods: 
  * A2plus 0.4.56a
  * Curves 0.5.0
  * fasteners 0.3.46
  * Render 2022.2.0
EDIT: Corrected typo in title
Last edited by thyssentishman on Wed Jul 06, 2022 11:01 am, edited 3 times in total.
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 7993
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Sktecher CreatePolyline mode cycle shortcut

Post by openBrain »

What is your Mouse navigation style please ?
drmacro
Veteran
Posts: 5977
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Sktecher CreatePolyline mode cycle shortcut

Post by drmacro »

M key works as advertised in Debian and Manjaro. Maybe a Windows thing.
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
thyssentishman
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon May 16, 2022 10:35 am

Re: Sktecher CreatePolyline mode cycle shortcut

Post by thyssentishman »

openBrain wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 10:13 am What is your Mouse navigation style please ?
I use CAD.
drmacro wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 10:14 am M key works as advertised in Debian and Manjaro. Maybe a Windows thing.
Hmm maybe. :?

Kind regards,
Johannes
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 7993
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Sktecher CreatePolyline mode cycle shortcut

Post by openBrain »

thyssentishman wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 10:20 am
openBrain wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 10:13 am What is your Mouse navigation style please ?
I use CAD.
OK thx. Can't reproduce using this same style. :?
Could you try hard resetting your FC preferences by renaming %APPDATA%\FreeCAD folder (need to do it with no FC instance running) ?
thyssentishman
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon May 16, 2022 10:35 am

Re: Sketcher CreatePolyline mode cycle shortcut

Post by thyssentishman »

openBrain wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 10:27 am Could you try hard resetting your FC preferences by renaming %APPDATA%\FreeCAD folder (need to do it with no FC instance running) ?
Done! With default preferences it works as expected. What preference could be interfering? I don't set any shortcuts manually that could override this.

Kind regards,
Johannes
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 7993
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Sketcher CreatePolyline mode cycle shortcut

Post by openBrain »

thyssentishman wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 10:33 am Done! With default preferences it works as expected. What preference could be interfering?
Unfortunately not a lot of clue from my side ATM...
I don't set any shortcuts manually that could override this.
I would have think to that also.
Can you check in the (previously failing) "user.cfg" file and search for a group identified with <FCParamGroup Name="Shortcut"> :?:
If it exists, you can have a look or copy it (the whole group) here. ;)
thyssentishman
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon May 16, 2022 10:35 am

Re: Sketcher CreatePolyline mode cycle shortcut

Post by thyssentishman »

openBrain wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 10:40 am Can you check in the (previously failing) "user.cfg" file and search for a group identified with <FCParamGroup Name="Shortcut"> :?:
If it exists, you can have a look or copy it (the whole group) here. ;)
It doesn't exist. Would you like to have the whole file?

Kind regards,
Johannes
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 7993
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Sketcher CreatePolyline mode cycle shortcut

Post by openBrain »

thyssentishman wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 10:46 am It doesn't exist. Would you like to have the whole file?
Why not. Just to see if we can reproduce with it. Please check there is nothing confidential in it before posting, such as names appearing in MRUs or so. ;)
thyssentishman
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon May 16, 2022 10:35 am

Re: Sketcher CreatePolyline mode cycle shortcut

Post by thyssentishman »

openBrain wrote: Wed Jul 06, 2022 10:47 am Why not. Just to see if we can reproduce with it.
Good news, I found the problem. It was indeed my fault. I forgot I had created a shortcut for a macro (M,O) that was interfering. Good to know at least that the CreatePolyline tool will still work if its shortcut is overridden.

It would be nice to have a feature that keeps track of default shortcuts and warns you about overriding them.

Sorry if this was a waste of your time and thank you for your help @openBrain and @drmacro.

Kind regards,
Johannes
Post Reply