Symbols

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
pgershon
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon May 09, 2022 9:30 pm

Re: Symbols

Post by pgershon »

Oh now I see Ed redrew the whole thing !! How amazing thank-you so much for that, Ed!!
I will study it and maybe follow up in a day or so. Meanwhile, THANK-YOU SO MUCH!

I assume the spacebar toggles facets on and off, rather than than incrementally cycling around all the sketches etc.

Best regards, Paul


edwilliams16 wrote: Sat Jul 02, 2022 7:17 pm You can cut down on the number of offsets required by a careful choice of the initial origin, so that the subsequent features align with the principal planes. I did this with your model. I didn't get around to renaming all the features, but you can walk through the model with the space-bar.
I used one Datum Plane, representing the bottom plane as it was the support for two subsequent sketches - Sketch005 and Sketch007. Other sketches were on principal planes or on offsets calculated by expressions, to make them parametric. External geometry in sketches only referred to previous sketches - the earliest available one in the tree, mostly Sketch.
You have two 6.35 mm dimensions, I made them independent. They could have been tied together, if that is the intent. This would have simplified some expressions.
This model, if you want to easily use it with different parameter sets, would be be well-served by coupling it to a spreadsheet. Then you wouln't have to poke through the model to figure out where any given dimension gets defined. I like using the DynamicData add-on in this situation.
This is all a little more work than just slapping sketches on generated geometry - but that leads to models that easily break under modification. For a one-off design, you might as well use Sketchup.

Screen Shot 2022-07-02 at 9.07.27 AM.png
edwilliams16
Veteran
Posts: 1377
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 10:31 pm
Location: Hawaii
Contact:

Re: Symbols

Post by edwilliams16 »

@pgershon

My first file used your sketches and just was an illustration of how to avoid linking to generated geometry. The second (same name unfortunately) changed the origin to make things simpler, but went much further.

WRT to your unattached sketch - that isn't necessarily an error. It defaults to being in the XY-Plane and you adjust the Placement (not the non-existent Attachment Offset).
I attached it to the XY-Plane (click on MapMode in the Property|Data, choose the XY_Plane under Origin in the Tree). Then I set the z-offset to -6.35 mm to bring it down to the bottom face. Finally I had to reverse the direction of the Hole
Screen Shot 2022-07-02 at 5.45.06 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-02 at 5.45.06 PM.png (39.66 KiB) Viewed 401 times
Screen Shot 2022-07-02 at 5.45.36 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-02 at 5.45.36 PM.png (51.24 KiB) Viewed 401 times
EDIT remembered attachment!
Attachments
Stage2mEW.FCStd
(161.93 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
edwilliams16
Veteran
Posts: 1377
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 10:31 pm
Location: Hawaii
Contact:

Re: Symbols

Post by edwilliams16 »

BTW, if you try to pocket Sketch014 in your model, it will initially fail because the default 5 mm pocket will create two solids - not allowed in Part Design. Reduce it to the desired depth of your counterbore and it will succeed. (Or cut the center hole first, then the counterbore)
@pgershon
pgershon
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon May 09, 2022 9:30 pm

Re: Symbols

Post by pgershon »

Hi Ed,
Thanks so much for all this. I started to study your de novo redraw, StageEW(1).FSC2d, and the first thing I noticed was that the simple action of opening "Sketch" by double clicking on it in FreeCAD 0.19 was that blocks 1 and 2 have jumped to the right (in 'Right' view) with respect to block3 upon closing the sketch. Ctrl-Z corrects this. I wonder if you notice the same thing. I am using:

OS: Ubuntu Core 20 (ubuntu:GNOME/ubuntu)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.24267 +148 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: tag: 0.19.4
Hash: 476ecf091941bead59b14e44afa6064d5a66afa3
Python version: 3.8.10
Qt version: 5.15.3
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.5.2
Locale: English/United States (en_US)

Thanks a lot! Paul

edwilliams16 wrote: Sun Jul 03, 2022 4:11 am BTW, if you try to pocket Sketch014 in your model, it will initially fail because the default 5 mm pocket will create two solids - not allowed in Part Design. Reduce it to the desired depth of your counterbore and it will succeed. (Or cut the center hole first, then the counterbore)
@pgershon
edwilliams16
Veteran
Posts: 1377
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 10:31 pm
Location: Hawaii
Contact:

Re: Symbols

Post by edwilliams16 »

pgershon wrote: Mon Jul 04, 2022 8:58 am Hi Ed,
Thanks so much for all this. I started to study your de novo redraw, StageEW(1).FSC2d, and the first thing I noticed was that the simple action of opening "Sketch" by double clicking on it in FreeCAD 0.19 was that blocks 1 and 2 have jumped to the right (in 'Right' view) with respect to block3 upon closing the sketch. Ctrl-Z corrects this. I wonder if you notice the same thing. I am using:
I'm not seeing anything like that.
pgershon
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon May 09, 2022 9:30 pm

Re: Symbols

Post by pgershon »

Hi Ed,
Thanks so the attached three screenshots are:
Shot1: Initial file-open
Shot2: After double-clicking on 'Sketch'
Shot3: After closing sketch.
Ctrl-Z restores the initial configuration

Opening any sketch has the same effect. Sketch007 still had 2 degrees of freedom, but constraining those did not fix the problem. I think I have reached an impasse on all fronts.

Best regards, Paul


edwilliams16 wrote: Mon Jul 04, 2022 6:43 pm
pgershon wrote: Mon Jul 04, 2022 8:58 am Hi Ed,
Thanks so much for all this. I started to study your de novo redraw, StageEW(1).FSC2d, and the first thing I noticed was that the simple action of opening "Sketch" by double clicking on it in FreeCAD 0.19 was that blocks 1 and 2 have jumped to the right (in 'Right' view) with respect to block3 upon closing the sketch. Ctrl-Z corrects this. I wonder if you notice the same thing. I am using:
I'm not seeing anything like that.
Attachments
Shot1.png
Shot1.png (190.35 KiB) Viewed 260 times
Shot2.png
Shot2.png (208.79 KiB) Viewed 260 times
Shot3.png
Shot3.png (214.56 KiB) Viewed 260 times
edwilliams16
Veteran
Posts: 1377
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 10:31 pm
Location: Hawaii
Contact:

Re: Symbols

Post by edwilliams16 »

Screen Shot 2022-07-05 at 12.01.24 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-05 at 12.01.24 PM.png (41.95 KiB) Viewed 244 times
After double clicking sketch
Screen Shot 2022-07-05 at 12.02.24 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-05 at 12.02.24 PM.png (26.32 KiB) Viewed 244 times
After closing
Screen Shot 2022-07-05 at 12.03.30 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-05 at 12.03.30 PM.png (42.36 KiB) Viewed 244 times
So obviously it works for me. Have you tried re-downloading it? You might have corrupted it somehow. Your first image is asking for everything to be recomputed, so it can't be the original. (The blue check-marks. ctrl-r to recompute)

What exact version of FreeCAD are you using? See the instructions in the red banner at the top to see how to report this.
@pgershon
pgershon
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon May 09, 2022 9:30 pm

Re: Symbols

Post by pgershon »

I rebooted my Ubuntu PC, and for some reason FreeCAD has now updated to 0.20, and this 'jump-to-the-right' bug no longer is present!

Thanks and best regards, Paul

pgershon wrote: Tue Jul 05, 2022 9:49 pm Hi Ed,
Thanks so the attached three screenshots are:
Shot1: Initial file-open
Shot2: After double-clicking on 'Sketch'
Shot3: After closing sketch.
Ctrl-Z restores the initial configuration

Opening any sketch has the same effect. Sketch007 still had 2 degrees of freedom, but constraining those did not fix the problem. I think I have reached an impasse on all fronts.

Best regards, Paul


edwilliams16 wrote: Mon Jul 04, 2022 6:43 pm
pgershon wrote: Mon Jul 04, 2022 8:58 am Hi Ed,
Thanks so much for all this. I started to study your de novo redraw, StageEW(1).FSC2d, and the first thing I noticed was that the simple action of opening "Sketch" by double clicking on it in FreeCAD 0.19 was that blocks 1 and 2 have jumped to the right (in 'Right' view) with respect to block3 upon closing the sketch. Ctrl-Z corrects this. I wonder if you notice the same thing. I am using:
I'm not seeing anything like that.
pgershon
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon May 09, 2022 9:30 pm

Re: Symbols

Post by pgershon »

Ed,
Many thanks for your kind response: I rebooted my Ubuntu PC (for unrelated reasons), and for some reason FreeCAD has now updated to 0.20, and this 'jump-to-the-right' bug no longer is present!

I will study everything you have done in the files you created, and may comment again in a day or two, but I think I should probably do a bit of self-study first.

Thanks again and best regards, Paul


edwilliams16 wrote: Tue Jul 05, 2022 10:10 pm Screen Shot 2022-07-05 at 12.01.24 PM.png
After double clicking sketch
Screen Shot 2022-07-05 at 12.02.24 PM.png
After closing

Screen Shot 2022-07-05 at 12.03.30 PM.png

So obviously it works for me. Have you tried re-downloading it? You might have corrupted it somehow. Your first image is asking for everything to be recomputed, so it can't be the original. (The blue check-marks. ctrl-r to recompute)

What exact version of FreeCAD are you using? See the instructions in the red banner at the top to see how to report this.
@pgershon
pgershon
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon May 09, 2022 9:30 pm

Re: Symbols

Post by pgershon »

Hi Ed,
Sorry to bother you again: In your file "StageEW(1).FCStd":

On sketch001, how did you constrain the point? Sorry I just cannot figure it out. When I add a point like this, to a test sketch, it appears with 2dof(s). However, you seem to have constrained it without adding a constraint beyond the circle diameter and the circle symmetry position between origin and point.

The "constrain point onto object" tool does not remove the 2dof(s) and just creates a fist icon. the freecad wiki seems very thin on this and there is no tutorial on just how to constrain a point. Not even anything on the internet under "FreeCAD fist icon".

Sorry to bother you and thanks very much, Paul




edwilliams16 wrote: Tue Jul 05, 2022 10:10 pm Screen Shot 2022-07-05 at 12.01.24 PM.png
After double clicking sketch
Screen Shot 2022-07-05 at 12.02.24 PM.png
After closing

Screen Shot 2022-07-05 at 12.03.30 PM.png

So obviously it works for me. Have you tried re-downloading it? You might have corrupted it somehow. Your first image is asking for everything to be recomputed, so it can't be the original. (The blue check-marks. ctrl-r to recompute)

What exact version of FreeCAD are you using? See the instructions in the red banner at the top to see how to report this.
@pgershon
Post Reply