(WORKAROUND) Question about extrude

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Veteran
Posts: 11801
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm
Location: Osnabrück DE 🇩🇪
Contact:

(WORKAROUND) Question about extrude

Post by thomas-neemann »

if i want to extrude this face (in part)

extrudieren-frage.FCStd
(4.35 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
Bildschirmfoto_2022-06-28_09-16-48.png
Bildschirmfoto_2022-06-28_09-16-48.png (23.29 KiB) Viewed 833 times

i get this result.

Bildschirmfoto_2022-06-28_09-12-47.png
Bildschirmfoto_2022-06-28_09-12-47.png (25.85 KiB) Viewed 833 times

Can anybody confirm this?


Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (XFCE/xubuntu)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.29177 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.20)
Hash: 68e337670e227889217652ddac593c93b5e8dc94
Python 3.9.13, Qt 5.12.9, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.1.0, OCC 7.5.3
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
Installed mods: 
  * InventorLoader 1.3.0
Last edited by thomas-neemann on Tue Jun 28, 2022 7:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
Gruß Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Thomas Neemann

https://www.youtube.com/@thomasneemann5 ... ry=freecad
User avatar
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 5541
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: Question about extrude

Post by adrianinsaval »

confirmed, seems like it can't properly detect the face normal
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Veteran
Posts: 11801
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm
Location: Osnabrück DE 🇩🇪
Contact:

Re: Question about extrude

Post by thomas-neemann »

adrianinsaval wrote: Tue Jun 28, 2022 7:21 am confirmed, seems like it can't properly detect the face normal
thanks for testing

a rectangle in the same position works, seems to be on the triangle
Bildschirmfoto_2022-06-28_09-26-36.png
Bildschirmfoto_2022-06-28_09-26-36.png (17.54 KiB) Viewed 810 times
Gruß Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Thomas Neemann

https://www.youtube.com/@thomasneemann5 ... ry=freecad
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Veteran
Posts: 11801
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm
Location: Osnabrück DE 🇩🇪
Contact:

Re: Question about extrude

Post by thomas-neemann »

in partdesign is apparently the same problem

Bildschirmfoto_2022-06-28_09-36-25.png
Bildschirmfoto_2022-06-28_09-36-25.png (8.85 KiB) Viewed 800 times
extrudieren-frage-pd.FCStd
(10.22 KiB) Downloaded 8 times


edit


it works with a sketch
Bildschirmfoto_2022-06-28_09-40-05.png
Bildschirmfoto_2022-06-28_09-40-05.png (26.26 KiB) Viewed 793 times
Gruß Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Thomas Neemann

https://www.youtube.com/@thomasneemann5 ... ry=freecad
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Veteran
Posts: 11801
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm
Location: Osnabrück DE 🇩🇪
Contact:

Re: Question about extrude

Post by thomas-neemann »

workaround. if you downgrade the face before extruding, it works
Bildschirmfoto_2022-06-28_09-45-39.png
Bildschirmfoto_2022-06-28_09-45-39.png (43.61 KiB) Viewed 789 times
Gruß Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Thomas Neemann

https://www.youtube.com/@thomasneemann5 ... ry=freecad
User avatar
onekk
Veteran
Posts: 6146
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 7:48 am
Contact:

Re: (WORKAROUND) Question about extrude

Post by onekk »

Strangely enough, if I extract the face using "send to python console" "context menu" item having activate Part WB in 0.20.29177.

I have done it with the Wire object obtaining the shp object (among others)

I could extrude the face without errors.

Code: Select all

face = shp.Faces[0]
solid = face.extrude(FreeCAD.Vector(0,10,0))
Part.show(solid, "Solid")
Hope it helps.

Regards

Carlo D.
GitHub page: https://github.com/onekk/freecad-doc.
- In deep articles on FreeCAD.
- Learning how to model with scripting.
- Various other stuffs.

Blog: https://okkmkblog.wordpress.com/
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Veteran
Posts: 11801
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm
Location: Osnabrück DE 🇩🇪
Contact:

Re: (WORKAROUND) Question about extrude

Post by thomas-neemann »

onekk wrote: Tue Jun 28, 2022 9:00 am ...
thanks for the cooperation. This is probably a solution for many here. I'm currently producing educational videos, so I'll probably do without the fill option. then everything works.
Gruß Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Thomas Neemann

https://www.youtube.com/@thomasneemann5 ... ry=freecad
User avatar
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 5541
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: (WORKAROUND) Question about extrude

Post by adrianinsaval »

this could be considered a bug, @uwestoehr any idea why the face normal is not correctly picked up? or is that not the problem?
User avatar
mfro
Posts: 663
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:15 am

Re: (WORKAROUND) Question about extrude

Post by mfro »

Apparently, it's not caused by FreeCAD unable to extract the face normal.
If you create a DatumLine from it in PartDesign, it looks perfect, but same result when padding along it.

PartDesign padding works with a DraftToSketch.
Cheers,
Markus
TheMarkster
Veteran
Posts: 5505
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:53 am

Re: (WORKAROUND) Question about extrude

Post by TheMarkster »

One workaround is make a compound of the wire. Part menu -> Compound -> make compound. Then select the compound and extrude it.
Post Reply