How do I select a face inside a solid.

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
freedman
Veteran
Posts: 2543
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:02 am
Location: Washington State, USA

How do I select a face inside a solid.

Post by freedman »

As you can see I am piping a path through a block. I want to continue the path with a direction change heading upward, to do this I need to select the face (arrow in pic) that's inside the block. How do I do this?

I tried wireframe, the end node on the spline.. Hmmm :?:
Thanks
Attachments
block1.FCStd
(26.66 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
Untitled.png
Untitled.png (157.08 KiB) Viewed 456 times
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 43066
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: How do I select a face inside a solid.

Post by chrisb »

Selecting faces is not recommended anyway, so you better select the sketch of the path with an appropriate attachment.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 2642
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: How do I select a face inside a solid.

Post by adrianinsaval »

try enabling the cut plane for a moment a select then?
drmacro
Veteran
Posts: 5757
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: How do I select a face inside a solid.

Post by drmacro »

As chrisb notes, probably best not to.

But, do you really want the face? You could set wireframe view mode and select the edge.
(Of course, realizing that the same issues of using generated geometry exist.)
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
heda
Posts: 886
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 5:49 pm

Re: How do I select a face inside a solid.

Post by heda »

User avatar
Shalmeneser
Veteran
Posts: 4229
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 12:04 am
Location: Fr

Re: How do I select a face inside a solid.

Post by Shalmeneser »

:idea:
Attachments
Capture d’écran 2022-05-22 094053.jpg
Capture d’écran 2022-05-22 094053.jpg (55.42 KiB) Viewed 344 times
Plumber_SHALM.FCStd
(22.44 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
User avatar
papyblaise
Veteran
Posts: 4669
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 4:28 pm
Location: France

Re: How do I select a face inside a solid.

Post by papyblaise »

you switch to Wireframe, select the generator of the circle and attach a new sketch to it
Attachments
blok1.JPG
blok1.JPG (23.51 KiB) Viewed 316 times
block1.FCStd
(34.45 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
freedman
Veteran
Posts: 2543
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:02 am
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: How do I select a face inside a solid.

Post by freedman »

The clipping plane worked, see pic.
But clipping isn't easy and if I had to make a bunch if connections in a solid it would be difficult. It made me think about an advanced Selection concept where if you click in the same spot a clipping plane clips down to the next available element in the stack-up of elements.

Creating a sketch for the internal face is possible but the sketch has an attachment so this just makes the model more complicated. But I will say that we can select internally by sketch from the tree.

There isn't much reason for a sketch on a Additivepipe, the face is the pattern for the next section of pipe.

I expect TNP to be fixed so I have no problem with these selection methods.

I'm working on a piping macro so best case would be to make the internal edge/face selection automatically i.e the end of the pipe.

Thanks all!
Attachments
block2.png
block2.png (62.4 KiB) Viewed 228 times
User avatar
papyblaise
Veteran
Posts: 4669
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 4:28 pm
Location: France

Re: How do I select a face inside a solid.

Post by papyblaise »

it might make more sense to do the pipe first (additivePipe) , and do a boolean subtraction of the cube
Post Reply