gettng started

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
edsut

gettng started

Post by edsut »

Hi,
I am brand new to FreeCAD (spent a few days over Christmas break working with it). I've been using Sketchup for years, and have dabbled with OpenSCAD, but I'm hoping I can transition off Sketchup to FreeCAD for all of my 3D printing work. I've watched and followed along with a lot of excellent tutorial videos from MangoJelly (started with https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DcNlm8JAfJc) and they have been a great start. Now I'm attempting my first "from-scratch" part and relatively quickly I ran into a snag trying to do something I thought would be simple. Refer to the attachment (drawn with sketchup) to see what I'm trying to create.
I started with a rectangle, added an arc and then padded it out 1.5". I thought I could then click on the face and create a second rectangle (coincident with the first) without the arc and then just pad that out an additional 1.5". I just couldn't get that to work. When I would click on the pad tool for the second portion of the part it would fail. I had tried the "Copy Geometry from another Sketch" button so that I could constrain the second rectangle to points on the first rectangle, FreeCAD wouldn't let me do that.
Note I'm using 0.19 on W10.
Any suggestions?
Thanks in advance,
Ed
Attachments
part.jpg
part.jpg (26.2 KiB) Viewed 2540 times
jmaustpc
Veteran

Re: gettng started

Post by jmaustpc »

Create a sketch containing a rectangle
Pad the full length
Create a second sketch with a circle
Pocket to length required
Shalmeneser
Veteran

Post by Shalmeneser »

:lol:
Attachments
Capture du 2022-01-02 21-00-57.png
Capture du 2022-01-02 21-00-57.png (18.74 KiB) Viewed 2474 times
Brainwashing.FCStd
(27.6 KiB) Downloaded 51 times