ellipse cone

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
bullhayward

ellipse cone

Post by bullhayward »

so im trying to create an ellipse cone to mimic roughly the shape of my forearm
It is kicking my butt and im not sure how to do it i am a complete newb to cad

the measurements i need are

65mm,54mm
length 200mm
82mm,100mm

i know i need to create my two ellipse then use loft to attach them but im running into multiple problems aligning and making to the measurements i need

tia
Last edited by bullhayward on Mon May 04, 2020 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
quick61
Veteran

Re: ellispe cone

Post by quick61 »

Hello bullhayward, I usually just lurk here these days but I'll pop in on this one.

Sense you have not shared which Workbench(s) you were using in your attempt, I'll just mention one way of doing it.
FA.png
FA.png (15.99 KiB) Viewed 2216 times
I used Draft and made the first ellipse and then copied it and changed the major, minor, and Z height in the second ellipses Data tab, then did a Part > Loft and done. Would you mind sharing a bit more detail on what the exact nature of your troubles were, what Workbenches and tools you were using that were giving you trouble? We should be able to help you understand what you were doing correct and wrong and get you on your way. FC file below.

Welcome to the forum.

Mark
FA.FCStd
(11.68 KiB) Downloaded 75 times
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
chrisb
Veteran

Post by chrisb »

Hi Mark, it's been a while - welcome back!
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
quick61
Veteran

Post by quick61 »

chrisb wrote: Sat May 02, 2020 7:53 am Hi Mark, it's been a while - welcome back!