Curves workbench

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Chris_G
Veteran
Posts: 2102
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Chris_G »

OK.
Please give a try with new v0.4.1
drmacro
Veteran
Posts: 5769
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Post by drmacro »

Chris_G wrote: Thu Apr 07, 2022 3:42 pm OK.
Please give a try with new v0.4.1
Still says 0.3.0 is installed, but the segment surface works as expected.
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
drmacro
Veteran
Posts: 5769
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Post by drmacro »

When creating a freehand b-spline why is snapping only allowed to other b-splines?


It would seem this is very limiting, since other geometry can't be used for reference.
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
User avatar
Chris_G
Veteran
Posts: 2102
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Chris_G »

Snapping should work for any geometry.
But the selection process during the BSpline editing is not working very well.
drmacro
Veteran
Posts: 5769
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Post by drmacro »

Chris_G wrote: Sat Apr 09, 2022 4:19 pm Snapping should work for any geometry.
But the selection process during the BSpline editing is not working very well.
I agree the selection is a bit wonky.

I did think that the any vertex worked last I used it. But, today I noticed it was not. (And, I noted that my updates to the wiki on the use of the snap were updated to specifically say it would only snap to other b-splines.)

Also, is it possible to make a closed b-spline? Edit: still a question, but the JoinCurve does close the curve...

In the attached file the two b-splines loft ok, but because the ends just overlap (i.e. the XY coords of the start and end are the same) if fails geometry check. (At least I think that is the source of the error. It says Face1 has a selfintersect...but, I couldn't find Face1...)

Edit: scratch that. This file with the JoinCurves/loft fails geo. check.
Attachments
Trace_CurvesWB.FCStd
(121.64 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
Snip macro screenshot-93a0fe.png
Snip macro screenshot-93a0fe.png (51.72 KiB) Viewed 724 times
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
User avatar
saso
Veteran
Posts: 1691
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Post by saso »

Some nice videos with a few tips and ticks on surfacing (and few other things) in solidworks, but in general a lot of it can be useful to understand and do surfacing also in other programs...

https://www.youtube.com/c/lowe9/videos Andrew Lowe
https://www.youtube.com/c/DiMonteGroupInc/videos DiMonte Group Inc
Bance
Veteran
Posts: 2610
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Bance »

Hi Chris,

I seem to be having the same problem drmacro had, I have V0.4.2 installed, regression?
The segmented surface problem that is. :D

TX Steve.

Code: Select all

OS: Manjaro Linux (XFCE/xfce)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.28751 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 660655e)
Hash: 660655e54c97b5017ff0ac1e030059308cd4e3f5
Python 3.9.12, Qt 5.12.9, Coin 4.0.0, OCC 7.5.3
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)
Installed mods: 
  * Curves 0.4.2
User avatar
Chris_G
Veteran
Posts: 2102
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Chris_G »

Hello,
Previous fix was not good.
Problem should be fixed now, I hope, with v0.4.3
Bance
Veteran
Posts: 2610
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Bance »

Thanks very much for the quick attention, works now.
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 43127
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Curves workbench: problems with MapSketchToSurface

Post by chrisb »

I thought I had a good idea to solve this help request by using MapSketchToSurface.

This is what I tried to get equidistant marks on a spiral surface:
- create a spiral in Part workbench
- extrude the spiral in Part workbench to the width of the roll
- create a sketch with a rectangle, change it to construction geometry
- - set length=Spiral.Shape.Length
- - set width=Extrude.Length
- create the marks on the rectangle, I have used equidistant circles
- use Curves > MapSketchToSurface to map the sketch to the face

However, since it is a spiral where the inner diameter is smaller than the outer, the holes should not lie all on a straight line.

I'm not sure if I made something wrong or if I expect the wrong thing or if Curves is doing it wrong.
It would probably work, if I split the spiral and the sketches in chunks of 360°, but I wanted to avoid the calculations.
SnipScreenshot-d59188.png
SnipScreenshot-d59188.png (15.02 KiB) Viewed 368 times
Attachments
MapOnSpiralSurface.FCStd
(66.05 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
Post Reply