Curves workbench

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 53919
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Curves workbench

Post by chrisb »

mfro wrote: Sat Aug 06, 2022 8:03 am After cache update (nothing else done) it said 0.5.4 as well?
The image above was taken after the cache update and checking for updates. However, it was not in latest master, but in 0.21.29393. I then did the update, started FreeCAD, opened AddonManager, clicked on Curves workbench and got this:
Bildschirmfoto 2022-08-06 um 10.08.23.png
Bildschirmfoto 2022-08-06 um 10.08.23.png (57.43 KiB) Viewed 1547 times
In the FreeCAD infos it says still 0.3.0:

Code: Select all

OS: macOS 10.16
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.21.29865 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: fb5c731847398c5bfbc37468ba851e70860a86d5
Python 3.10.5, Qt 5.15.4, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.1.0, OCC 7.6.2
Locale: C/Default (C)
Installed mods: 
  * FC_SU
  * DynamicData 2.46.0
  * FeedsAndSpeeds 0.4.0
  * fcgear
  * fasteners
  * sheetmetal
  * ExplodedAssembly
  * Curves 0.3.0
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
Syres
Veteran
Posts: 2893
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Syres »

@chrisb ,the fact that fcgear, Fasteners and Sheetmetal don't have any version numbers next to them indicates either a Mac specific issue or maybe time to clear out all your Addons and reinstall them in maybe groups of three or four. On my self compiled Linux they have been reporting correctly for a good few months and yes they are not all up-to-date but that's for personal reasons while I make sure old files still work.

Code: Select all

OS: Linux Mint 19.3 (X-Cinnamon/cinnamon)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.21.29966 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 3818534cd6bbf78b3a57c946ac73f33650233f6c
Python 3.6.9, Qt 5.9.5, Coin 4.0.0a, Vtk 7.1.1, OCC 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)
Installed mods: 
  * fasteners 0.3.50
  * Silk 1.0.0
  * Plot 2022.4.17
  * CfdOF 1.16.1
  * BIM 2021.12.0
  * FeedsAndSpeeds 0.4.0
  * dodo
  * Curves 0.5.4
  * Manipulator 1.4.9
  * fcgear 1.0.0
  * ThreadProfile 1.82.0
  * A2plus 0.4.56a
  * sheetmetal 0.2.56
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 53919
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Curves workbench

Post by chrisb »

Syres wrote: Sat Aug 06, 2022 9:05 am time to clear out all your Addons and reinstall them
Good idea, I'll do that later.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
Vincent B
Veteran
Posts: 4713
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Vincent B »

Joincurves mix vertexes: start at 1, 2, 4, ,6 .....34,36.
Even numbers are missing or carry out BOPalgo Self Intersect errors... :o
...
Curves wb 0.5.2
Attachments
test_Joincurve.FCStd
(35.58 KiB) Downloaded 36 times
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 53919
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Curves workbench

Post by chrisb »

chrisb wrote: Sat Aug 06, 2022 12:14 pm Good idea, I'll do that later.
I have reinstalled all Addon workbenches and it looks all good now. Thanks for the support.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
Jolbas
Posts: 327
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2022 7:48 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Jolbas »

Chris_G wrote: Wed Aug 03, 2022 5:40 pm The tool fails to produce a closed wire.
I have pushed a fix so that it now returns a compound of edges in such situation (that's better than an broken face).
The last fix works great but sometimes it instead fails with an error:

Code: Select all

11:38:44  Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/Users/bj/Library/Application Support/FreeCAD/Mod/Curves/./freecad/Curves/FlattenFP.py", line 187, in execute
    flat_face = flatten_face(face, obj.InPlace, obj.Size)
  File "/Users/bj/Library/Application Support/FreeCAD/Mod/Curves/./freecad/Curves/FlattenFP.py", line 141, in flatten_face
    nw = Part.Wire(el)
<class 'Part.OCCError'>: BRep_API: command not done
Can we add the workaround with a compound of edges i this case too. Like the following but maybe choosing a more suitable error to raise:

Code: Select all

        try:
            nw = Part.Wire(el)
            if not nw.isClosed() or not nw.isValid():
                raise Part.OCCError
        except Part.OCCError:
            FreeCAD.Console.PrintError(f"Wire{i + 1} is not valid. Switching to Compound output.\n")
            build_face = False
            nw = Part.Compound(el)
        else:
            if w.Orientation == "Reversed":
                nw.reverse()
User avatar
Chris_G
Veteran
Posts: 2578
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Chris_G »

Would you have a test file please ?
User avatar
Jolbas
Posts: 327
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2022 7:48 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Jolbas »

Yes. I had to remove links to other documents:
Attachments
nr3test.FCStd
(491.43 KiB) Downloaded 28 times
User avatar
Chris_G
Veteran
Posts: 2578
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Post by Chris_G »

Thanks for the file.
I have pushed a fix.
User avatar
hammax
Veteran
Posts: 1985
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:03 pm
Location: Ammersee DE

Re: Curves workbench

Post by hammax »

... concerning Sketch_on_Surface some posts before.
A 3D-spiral without any arithmetic algorithm with some rounds.
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 87#p617087

If the sketch on surface includes tangent parallel constraints for each turn on the rotating surface
an interesting "twister spiral" is generated as sweep path.

Twister.PNG
Twister.PNG (35.85 KiB) Viewed 1134 times
Attachments
Twister.FCStd
FC.20.1
(57.33 KiB) Downloaded 32 times
Post Reply