Remake of Dr. Thang's "Two button mechanism 2"

Show off your FreeCAD projects here!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
cross

Remake of Dr. Thang's "Two button mechanism 2"

Post by cross »

Hello, I'm a student in community college and don't have much CAD and mechanical engineering experience. I made a model in FreeCAD based on Dr. Thang's "Two button mechanism 2"
phpBB [video]
thang two button recreation1.png
thang two button recreation1.png (116.77 KiB) Viewed 2149 times
I made the 16mm diameter holes on the panel before adding an M16 screw with the Fasteners workbench, but I noticed the threads fit within a 16mm diameter. It could still be secured by screwing it into something behind the panel, but then there is less contact area. I suspect this could make it looser and contribute to wear if the assembly is jiggled around. To avoid this, I could have used a cut with the screw instead of a sketched hole or maybe KurtF's Thread Maker.
thang two button recreation2.png.png
thang two button recreation2.png.png (44.56 KiB) Viewed 2149 times
I made a small gap between the inner button and leaf spring when the outer button is closed because I wanted to avoid compressive stress in the leaf spring's diagonal part as it is bent downwards by allowing it to maintain its length. If there was no gap, the diagonal part could be compressed by about 0.3mm, and it's about 1cm long, so the strain is about 0.03. From this article by Han-Seung Ko et al., the Young's modulus of PLA is about 3.1 GPa, so the stress in the leaf spring would be about 100 MPa if it compressed as the inner button is pushed all the way in before the rightmost spring pushes them out, and this is below the tensile strength given in the article but I'm not sure whether it would experience plastic deformation. I'm not very familiar with flexural stress but maybe I could use the article's data to guess if it's within the elastic limit if I calculated it.