BuildingPart does not have a Material Property

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12698
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

BuildingPart does not have a Material Property

Post by bernd »

ATM I only have acces to a old FreeCAD

OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.26498 (Git)
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.8.12
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.5.3
Locale: German/Switzerland (de_CH)

On this FreeCAD the Arch.BuildingPart does not have a Material property, thus it is not possible to assign a material. Does someone know if this has changed in latest 0.21 verison?

If not IMHO it should be possible to assign a material to a BuildingPart.

cheers bernd
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Veteran
Posts: 7605
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm
Location: Osnabrück DE

Re: BuildingPart does not have a Material Property

Post by thomas-neemann »

bernd wrote: Wed Nov 16, 2022 4:15 pm ...
if you're in a hurry, I can pick out a free alternative software for you, which will do the trick
ich biete freecad online-support an, als midi/mini-job
VHS Freecad Grundkurs
https://www.vhs-lingen.de/programm/kurs ... 011#inhalt
Gruß Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Thomas Neemann
User avatar
Roy_043
Veteran
Posts: 6172
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: BuildingPart does not have a Material Property

Post by Roy_043 »

A BuildingPart is primarily intended as a group-like container for multiple objects (that may each have a different material). Adding a Material property to a BuildingPart seems strange to me.
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12698
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: BuildingPart does not have a Material Property

Post by bernd »

thomas-neemann wrote: Wed Nov 16, 2022 4:31 pm
bernd wrote: Wed Nov 16, 2022 4:15 pm ...
if you're in a hurry, I can pick out a free alternative software for you, which will do the trick
no worrys I get the job done, even with FreeCAD if I have too ;-), but I would like to disscuss how it is in master.
paullee
Veteran
Posts: 4617
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: BuildingPart does not have a Material Property

Post by paullee »

What is your idea? :)
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12698
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: BuildingPart does not have a Material Property

Post by bernd »

Roy_043 wrote: Wed Nov 16, 2022 4:42 pm A BuildingPart is primarily intended as a group-like container for multiple objects (that may each have a different material). Adding a Material property to a BuildingPart seems strange to me.
depends ... in most cases you might be on the right track, but think of the following ...

A special steel detail which has to be welded. All parts use the same material. But because one would like to have a material bill of each part the several parts are not connected to one part by boolean operation. But in the finished building modell the whole detail is just one part, a building part. For all other persons except the manufactor of the part are only interested in the whole part and in its material. He would not like to have a look on every part of the detail to see what material the whole detail is made. In such a case it would make sense to give a material to the whole part.
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12698
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: BuildingPart does not have a Material Property

Post by bernd »

another idea ...

think of a composite material ... each part has its own mateial and the building part is has both objects in it and the material would be the name of the composite material. An example would be a concrete slab with CFRP slats.

another one ...

normally we do make two models, one for the concrete an on for the reinforcement, but imagin if one would like to have them in one model (May be just because one of the stakeholder would like to have it and pays for it ;) ). It would make sense to glue the concrete part and the reinforcement together to one building part for each concrete part.
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12698
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: BuildingPart does not have a Material Property

Post by bernd »

I do agree a floor and a building do not need a material.
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12698
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: BuildingPart does not have a Material Property

Post by bernd »

another one ...

the terrain body ... but it has different soil types. Each object has as material its soil type like rock, loam, moraine, etc but the whole soil body is one building part and gets the material soil.
User avatar
Palmtree
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2020 5:06 am

Re: BuildingPart does not have a Material Property

Post by Palmtree »

bernd wrote: Wed Nov 16, 2022 10:00 pm
think of a composite material ... each part has its own mateial and the building part is has both objects in it and the material would be the name of the composite material. An example would be a concrete slab with CFRP slats.
The attached image is a composite slab. The main components are:
1. Steel beam
2. Steel studs at say 200mm spacing c/c
3. Steel corrugated dead form-work (sheeting)
4. Concrete slab
5. Steel reinforcement bars
This is well known design/construction method for large scale project (power station turbine house slabs, bridges etc)

As an initial idea/concept I will would like to share the following:

• Define N = number of material (N=1,2,...n)
• If N = 1 => the building part is not composite => Keep FC as is no property changes
• If N > 1 => the building part is composite => create “n” material table ==> FC may requires an update
• For the attached example we need to define 5 materials. The four steel items are of different materials
Attachments
Image 1.jpg
Image 1.jpg (24.75 KiB) Viewed 669 times
Post Reply