Integration of BlenderBIM Features : FreeCAD Arch/BIM - Native IFC

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
ragohix769
Posts: 568
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 7:04 am
Location: Rome - Italy

Integration of NativeIFC Feaures in FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by ragohix769 »

I've tried too and I confirm Paul, it's augmented: now to open the same file it takes 277 seconds (4,6 min) and saving to *.FCStd it's now about 48,1 MB.

Log:
https://pastebin.com/gUQLMYeq

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 20.04.5 LTS (KDE/plasma)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.21.
Build type: Release
Branch: unknown
Hash: 7c51aa9749eddcfc0981feea3c3468560b88db22
Python 3.8.10, Qt 5.12.8, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 7.1.1, OCC 7.5.2
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)
Installed mods: 
  * FreeCAD-BlenderBIM 2022.10.20
  * BIM 2021.12.0
Attachments
wepz.png
wepz.png (289.9 KiB) Viewed 1780 times
After #ElonMuskBuyTwitter I'm no more on Twitter, that's really enough :-(
=> Now you can find me here on #Mastodon: https://mastodon.uno/@opensoul - I hope more people do the same :-)
User avatar
yorik
Founder
Posts: 13659
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by yorik »

paullee wrote: Wed Oct 26, 2022 12:03 am Latest version requires about 6 min to import the same ifc on my i3.
ragohix769 wrote: Wed Oct 26, 2022 1:04 am I confirm Paul, it's augmented: now to open the same file it takes 277 seconds
That is because I am experimenting with different import strategies... There will still be highs and lows in the coming weeks, don't expect stability or constant improvement just yet ;)

But looking at your screenshot @paullee you are not using the bb importer... These arch components are made by the Arch importer
User avatar
ragohix769
Posts: 568
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 7:04 am
Location: Rome - Italy

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by ragohix769 »

yorik wrote: Wed Oct 26, 2022 7:06 am That is because I am experimenting with different import strategies... There will still be highs and lows in the coming weeks, don't expect stability or constant improvement just yet ;)
Ok ok Yorik, it was just to see that a NativeIFC Authoring it's an implementation already in progress in FreeCAD, that's really cool! :D

If you need any testing, please let me know without problem 8-)
After #ElonMuskBuyTwitter I'm no more on Twitter, that's really enough :-(
=> Now you can find me here on #Mastodon: https://mastodon.uno/@opensoul - I hope more people do the same :-)
paullee
Veteran
Posts: 5118
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by paullee »

yorik wrote: Wed Oct 26, 2022 7:06 am
But looking at your screenshot @paullee you are not using the bb importer... These arch components are made by the Arch importer
Oops :)

So, there is still no pop up dialog box asking which importer to use :roll:
User avatar
ragohix769
Posts: 568
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 7:04 am
Location: Rome - Italy

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by ragohix769 »

paullee wrote: Wed Oct 26, 2022 3:13 pm
yorik wrote: Wed Oct 26, 2022 7:06 am
But looking at your screenshot @paullee you are not using the bb importer... These arch components are made by the Arch importer
Oops :)

So, there is still no pop up dialog box asking which importer to use :roll:
Me too here, no importer selectable:
*********************
#### To test

* Run FreeCAD
* `File` → `Open` or `File` → `Insert`, select an IFC file
* Select the BlenderBIM importer (bb_import)

********************
Ok [EDIT]

I think that I know what's going on, at least in my machine/installation.

If do Open>File>selecting the IFC file, there is no importer selection, but the file is imported superfast in 9-10 seconds very clean (in my Ryzen7:16cores@32_GB machine), and if I save to *.FCStd it's only 13 MB.

But... If I clic on recent files on startup, then the importer I think it's not used, I dont' know why, but it's used instead some Arch component to import, mega slow and a mess on error on report review. And if you save it, it creates a file large same like the the original *.IFC
After #ElonMuskBuyTwitter I'm no more on Twitter, that's really enough :-(
=> Now you can find me here on #Mastodon: https://mastodon.uno/@opensoul - I hope more people do the same :-)
paullee
Veteran
Posts: 5118
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by paullee »

ragohix769 wrote: Wed Oct 26, 2022 3:16 pm I think that I know what's going on, at least in my machine/installation.

If do Open>File>selecting the IFC file, there is no importer selection, but the file is imported superfast in 9-10 seconds very clean (in my Ryzen7:16cores@32_GB machine), and if I save to *.FCStd it's only 13 MB.

But... If I clic on recent files on startup, then the importer I think it's not used, I dont' know why, but it's used instead some Arch component to import, mega slow and a mess on error on report review. And if you save it, it creates a file large same like the the original *.IFC
Confirmed, I suspect something is wrong, and both File>Open, or New>Import, import superfast - about 1min.

Then, noted Ragohix's finding above about opening the ifc in 'recent files' in startup; confirm in this case it creates lots of Arch Component, i.e. 'existing' ifc importer.


Screenshot from 2022-10-27 00-44-20.png
Screenshot from 2022-10-27 00-44-20.png (170.43 KiB) Viewed 1620 times
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by Kunda1 »

chennes wrote: Tue Oct 25, 2022 2:37 pm OK, then let's try tweaking it to get some more output:

Code: Select all

import subprocess
import addonmanager_utilities as utils
python_exe = utils.get_python_exe()
args = [python_exe, '-m', 'pip', 'install', '--disable-pip-version-check', '--target', '/home/beast/snap/freecad/common/AdditionalPythonPackages', 'ifcopenshell']
proc = subprocess.run(args)
print(proc.stdout.decode())
print(proc.stderr.decode())
Result:

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<input>", line 1, in <module>
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'decode'
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
yorik
Founder
Posts: 13659
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by yorik »

ragohix769 wrote: Wed Oct 26, 2022 3:16 pm But... If I clic on recent files on startup, then the importer I think it's not used, I dont' know why, but it's used instead some Arch component to import, mega slow and a mess on error on report review. And if you save it, it creates a file large same like the the original *.IFC
Aha... I think I also see what can happen: I think both importers use exactly the same desciption for IFC files, and there is some mix-up done somewhere... I'll try changing a bit the one in bb
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by Kunda1 »

JFYI, chennes and I have been working to get the snap edge to play nice installing ifcopenshell and found an issue. Hopefully it will get addressed in https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-snap/issues/68 so testers can use snaps for testing this workbench as well.
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
paullee
Veteran
Posts: 5118
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by paullee »

Tested latest commit (5 days ago by carlopav)

Noted the File-Open / File-Import dialog box provide IFC-Native option to select :) Right click, Reveal Children works, and an Site object is revealed - time consuming though :D

Further Reveal Children though after revealing another child object (Building?) crash FC.

Screenshot from 2022-11-04 06-31-01.png
Screenshot from 2022-11-04 06-31-01.png (36.95 KiB) Viewed 1314 times
Screenshot from 2022-11-04 06-33-44.png
Screenshot from 2022-11-04 06-33-44.png (244.28 KiB) Viewed 1314 times
Screenshot from 2022-11-04 06-51-59.png
Screenshot from 2022-11-04 06-51-59.png (257.5 KiB) Viewed 1314 times

Code: Select all

OS: Fedora Linux 36 (Workstation Edition) (GNOME/gnome)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.21.30345 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: f42a47aa0fd8c4f34ef63c185d9f29b9b6e84737
Python 3.10.6, Qt 5.15.4, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.1.0, OCC 7.6.3
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Installed mods: 
  * dodo 1.0.0
  * DynamicData 2.46.0
  * ArchTextures
  * BOLTSFC.backup1666323893.5041647
  * BOLTSFC
  * FreeCAD-BlenderBIM.backup1666328110.015535
  * FreeCAD-BlenderBIM.backup1666737837.420096
  * FreeCAD-BlenderBIM 2022.10.20
  * 3rd link to SketchArchPlus
Post Reply