Integration of BlenderBIM Features : FreeCAD Arch/BIM - Native IFC

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
User avatar
ragohix769
Posts: 565
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 7:04 am
Location: Rome - Italy

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by ragohix769 »

Kunda1 wrote: Sat Oct 22, 2022 11:17 pm Mentioned this in an open ticket https://github.com/yorikvanhavre/FreeCA ... M/issues/3
Ok thanks.

Problems on Installing IfcOpenShell was noted also here in jan 2022:

https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?t=65699

Hope it can help to troubleshooting.
After #ElonMuskBuyTwitter I'm no more on Twitter, that's really enough :-(
=> Now you can find me here on #Mastodon: https://mastodon.uno/@opensoul - I hope more people do the same :-)
User avatar
Moult
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 11:46 am
Contact:

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by Moult »

This may help for those missing ifcopenshell: https://blenderbim.org/docs-python/ifco ... ation.html

To test multicore, do import multiprocessing then multiprocessing.cpu_count()
I also blog about 3D rendering, architecture, software and other on thinkMoult.com. RSS / Atom feed available for your convenience.
User avatar
ragohix769
Posts: 565
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 7:04 am
Location: Rome - Italy

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by ragohix769 »

At the end, even if on Ubuntu (20.04 LTS) repos "IfcOpenShell" was NOT present, I simply installed "python3-pip" package and then IfcOpenShell via pip, so:

Code: Select all

sudo apt install python3-pip && pip install ifcopenshell
Done 8-)
After #ElonMuskBuyTwitter I'm no more on Twitter, that's really enough :-(
=> Now you can find me here on #Mastodon: https://mastodon.uno/@opensoul - I hope more people do the same :-)
User avatar
chennes
Veteran
Posts: 3881
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by chennes »

ragohix769 wrote: Sat Oct 22, 2022 11:07 pm It's failing on automatic installing IfcOpenShell
Is there an error message in the FreeCAD console?
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
GitHub profile, LinkedIn profile, chrishennes.com
User avatar
ragohix769
Posts: 565
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 7:04 am
Location: Rome - Italy

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by ragohix769 »

chennes wrote: Sun Oct 23, 2022 1:16 am
ragohix769 wrote: Sat Oct 22, 2022 11:07 pm It's failing on automatic installing IfcOpenShell
Is there an error message in the FreeCAD console?
No, only system (OS) package manager crash notification. Maybe because he tried "apt install ifcopenshell" but there is no package on repos?
Last edited by ragohix769 on Sun Oct 23, 2022 1:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
After #ElonMuskBuyTwitter I'm no more on Twitter, that's really enough :-(
=> Now you can find me here on #Mastodon: https://mastodon.uno/@opensoul - I hope more people do the same :-)
User avatar
ragohix769
Posts: 565
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 7:04 am
Location: Rome - Italy

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by ragohix769 »

It's working :-)

=> 12 seconds on my Ryzen 7 with 16 core
Attachments
wepz.png
wepz.png (293.52 KiB) Viewed 1491 times
After #ElonMuskBuyTwitter I'm no more on Twitter, that's really enough :-(
=> Now you can find me here on #Mastodon: https://mastodon.uno/@opensoul - I hope more people do the same :-)
paullee
Veteran
Posts: 5098
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by paullee »

For information, I have been using AppImage on my Fedora for a couple of years, no need to separately install IfcOpenshell.

Kunda1 wrote: Sat Oct 22, 2022 10:43 pm Double clicking on the URL opens a dialog that allows me to specify the branch name:
Screenshot_20221022_184230.png

And difference in version, no branch information required here :)



Screenshot from 2022-10-23 09-39-39.png
Screenshot from 2022-10-23 09-39-39.png (113.18 KiB) Viewed 1488 times

Code: Select all

OS: Fedora Linux 36 (Workstation Edition) (GNOME/gnome)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.21.30345 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: f42a47aa0fd8c4f34ef63c185d9f29b9b6e84737
Python 3.10.6, Qt 5.15.4, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.1.0, OCC 7.6.3
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Installed mods: 
  * dodo 1.0.0
  * DynamicData 2.46.0
  * ArchTextures
  * Another link to SketchArchLite
  * BOLTSFC.backup1666323893.5041647
  * BOLTSFC
  * FreeCAD-BlenderBIM.backup1666328110.015535
  * FreeCAD-BlenderBIM
paullee
Veteran
Posts: 5098
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by paullee »

Moult wrote: Sun Oct 23, 2022 12:11 am To test multicore, do import multiprocessing then multiprocessing.cpu_count()

Thanks, works here on my i3 :)

Then, what is difference with 'multicore' and some codes in Yorik's github needs changes ?

Code: Select all

>>> import multiprocessing
>>> multiprocessing.cpu_count
<bound method BaseContext.cpu_count of <multiprocessing.context.DefaultContext object at 0x7f058efdd810>>
>>> multiprocessing.cpu_count()
4
>>> 
paullee
Veteran
Posts: 5098
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by paullee »

ragohix769 wrote: Sun Oct 23, 2022 1:31 am It's working :-)

=> 12 seconds on my Ryzen 7 with 16 core

Cool 8-)
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Integration of BlenderBIM Feaures : FreeCAD Arch/BIM

Post by Kunda1 »

@chennes i'm having ifcopenshell installation problems via the addon manager. Will report back soon.
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
Post Reply