GroupPython Not Exporting in STL

Need help, or want to share a macro? Post here!
Post Reply
Vasten
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 18, 2022 9:00 pm

GroupPython Not Exporting in STL

Post by Vasten »

I created my own DocumentObjectGroupPython fine, having custom icons is great

when i select it in tree view it highlights all of its object green as normal for any group or container

but when i export to step or stl the file is empty

if a select the internal objects they export fine

is there something i need to add to my container to make the export feature work

I plan to have these in a hierarchy to clean up tree display

but it kind of defeats the point if every time i want to export i have to go through the whole tree and select the object of every group manually


EDIT:
I just tried fusing something with the group and it said "input shape is null"

so i think can understand why it would not export.. the group object itself doesn't have a shape

makes sense

but if i put this group inside a tree, when i select a higher level up it wont select every object in the group, only the group

there must be a way to group things like this in a hierarchy...only need to select the top of the hierarchy... and be able to export

what am i missing? I'm guessing its something simple
Vasten
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 18, 2022 9:00 pm

Re: GroupPython Not Exporting in STL

Post by Vasten »

Update:

did a quick test

I tried adding a Part::PropertyPartShape called Shape to the Group and then setting that to be the Shape of an existing Box

Still nothing

Buyt my FeaturePython objects all export fine

Is there a way to create a FeaturePython Object that can have children just like a Group object? in that case I could just fuse everything and set the Feature Python object Shape

OS: Windows 10 Version 2009
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 2022.430.28641 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: LinkStage3
Hash: a77045488092c24ece25d63c91f362cbd2181d36
Python version: 3.8.6+
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.0
Vasten
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 18, 2022 9:00 pm

Re: GroupPython Not Exporting in STL

Post by Vasten »

god

hours of playing and I just found it

export mode was set to disabled.. god i feel stupid.. i didnt know there was a flag just for this

Seems a bit odd that it defaults to disabled lol
User avatar
onekk
Veteran
Posts: 2788
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 7:48 am
Contact:

Re: GroupPython Not Exporting in STL

Post by onekk »

Vasten wrote: Sun Jun 26, 2022 10:22 am ...
export mode was set to disabled.. god i feel stupid.. i didnt know there was a flag just for this

Seems a bit odd that it defaults to disabled lol
You are using from your FC info a linkstage3 version that could be different from "stock FC" , as due to many difference in source RealThunder sync it from time to time to the "stock FC" sources.

This problem could affect or not affect "stock FC" code, so good to have it also here, but there is a dedicated section for LS3.

https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewforum.php?f=44

Probably posting there will gave you more feedback from LS3 users, or maybe referring directly to RT github pages and making an "Issue" could lead to a "future PR" that will solve this "glitch".

Hope it helps.

Regards

Carlo D.
My English and Italian Scripting Guide https://github.com/onekk/freecad-doc.
My Blog: https://onekk-maker.blogspot.com/

To help development see on GitHub Page

For enquiry about customized FC Scripting job PM me.
Post Reply