general discussion about Wiki rules, style guidelines etc.

Discussions about the wiki documentation of FreeCAD and its translation.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
uwestoehr
Veteran

general discussion about Wiki rules, style guidelines etc.

Post by uwestoehr »

Dear Wiki editors,

since I handle the releases I actively contacted people to get more feedback outside of my bubble. My aim is to listen what average and new users think. Besides this, I could introduce FC to some colleagues and see how they learn. In general the Wiki is used much, I also see that what is not well documented is not used (no matter if I e.g. showed them) - no surprise :) .

As a developer I force myself to improve the Wiki based in the feedback I got, when I think something is missing or too technical, etc. However I sometimes see that my changes are just reverted and that some Wiki maintainers are unhappy with it. In some private discussions with them, I hear that there are rules and the aim of this discussion is to unveil them.

The goal of this thread is therefore to discuss the existing Wiki pages where our Wiki principles are documented:
* https://wiki.freecadweb.org/GuiCommand_model
* https://wiki.freecadweb.org/WikiPages
I hope to get this way less frustration since then the info is available for everybody and by a discussion some things can be changed by the community.

Here are my 2 main points:

-----------------------------------
1. Let's focus on the readability and hide the technical terms to the sections where they belong to (scripting etc.)