About "Elements" of "Assembly3" used in "XYZ_Plane", please help!

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
User avatar
xsuper9988
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2020 4:20 am

About "Elements" of "Assembly3" used in "XYZ_Plane", please help!

Post by xsuper9988 »

When I use "XY_Plane, XZ_Plane, YZ_Plane" in "Elements"
"Assembly3" seems to be all identified as "XY_Plane"?
Attachments
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE.png
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE.png (113.77 KiB) Viewed 803 times
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE.FCStd
(21.1 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
User avatar
bambuko
Veteran
Posts: 1549
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: About "Elements" of "Assembly3" used in "XYZ_Plane", please help!

Post by bambuko »

What are you trying to do?
It doesn't make sense to me...?
Can you, please explain better/in more detail
User avatar
xsuper9988
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2020 4:20 am

Re: About "Elements" of "Assembly3" used in "XYZ_Plane", please help!

Post by xsuper9988 »

bambuko wrote: Tue May 03, 2022 7:50 am What are you trying to do?
It doesn't make sense to me...?
Can you, please explain better/in more detail
when i use XYZ_Plane when alignment condition
in some cases
It is more convenient to calculate the distance from the center to the center

Picture 1 is
Body locked at (0,0,0)
Body001 at (100,100,100)

Picture 2 is
Body and Body001 use YZ_Plane as aligned Elements
After slove alignment
Body001 result should be (0,100,100)
But it's result...
Body001 at (100,100,0)
Attachments
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE001.png
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE001.png (146.05 KiB) Viewed 784 times
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE002.png
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE002.png (135.3 KiB) Viewed 784 times
Last edited by xsuper9988 on Tue May 03, 2022 2:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
bambuko
Veteran
Posts: 1549
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: About "Elements" of "Assembly3" used in "XYZ_Plane", please help!

Post by bambuko »

Why do you need or want to use body origin planes as elements???
User avatar
xsuper9988
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2020 4:20 am

Re: About "Elements" of "Assembly3" used in "XYZ_Plane", please help!

Post by xsuper9988 »

bambuko wrote: Tue May 03, 2022 8:18 am Why do you need or want to use body origin planes as elements???
In asymmetric Parts
Sometimes you need to use the center to align
Or use the center to calculate the relative distance
is more convenient
Anyway, XZ_Plane, YZ_Plane result is equivalent to XY_Plane
This should be a bug, right?
User avatar
bambuko
Veteran
Posts: 1549
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: About "Elements" of "Assembly3" used in "XYZ_Plane", please help!

Post by bambuko »

You are doing it all wrong I am afraid :oops:
and, no there is no bug...

Explain to me what is the end result meant to be,
and I will modify your file.
User avatar
xsuper9988
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2020 4:20 am

Re: About "Elements" of "Assembly3" used in "XYZ_Plane", please help!

Post by xsuper9988 »

bambuko wrote: Tue May 03, 2022 11:19 am You are doing it all wrong I am afraid :oops:
and, no there is no bug...

Explain to me what is the end result meant to be,
and I will modify your file.
I edited my last reply to make it more detailed

Picture 1 is
Body locked at (0,0,0)
Body001 at (100,100,100)

Picture 2 is
Body and Body001 use YZ_Plane as aligned Elements
After slove alignment
Body001 result should be (0,100,100)
But it's result...
Body001 at (100,100,0)

PS:
Picture011 is
Use XY_Plane to align results

Picture012 is
Use "_Element" and "_Element001" to align results

I think under this sample
Align with XY_Plane
The result should be the same as Picture012,right?
Attachments
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE011.png
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE011.png (112.95 KiB) Viewed 642 times
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE012.png
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE012.png (123.55 KiB) Viewed 642 times
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE.FCStd
(27.3 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE1.FCStd
(28.63 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
User avatar
bambuko
Veteran
Posts: 1549
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: About "Elements" of "Assembly3" used in "XYZ_Plane", please help!

Post by bambuko »

with some of my comments in red, below
xsuper9988 wrote: Tue May 03, 2022 2:12 pm I edited my last reply to make it more detailed

Picture 1 is
Body locked at (0,0,0) - locked constraint does not lock assembly part in a "postion" it locks it in relation to other parts of assembly

Body001 at (100,100,100) - doesn't matter where this part is, if the only constraint you use is PlaneAlignment, it can still be moved...

Picture 2 is
Body and Body001 use YZ_Plane as aligned Elements

After solve? alignment - there are still three degrees of freedom left....


Body001 result should be (0,100,100) - see above

But it's result...
Body001 at (100,100,0) - try using assembly mover and you will see that this is not true
I am running out of time to help you (about to depart on a trip where I will not have access to FreeCAD), sorry

I suggest you do a (lot of) reading on this excellent page:
http://help-freecad-jpg87.fr/02_ass_ind.php
User avatar
xsuper9988
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2020 4:20 am

Re: About "Elements" of "Assembly3" used in "XYZ_Plane", please help!

Post by xsuper9988 »

bambuko wrote: Tue May 03, 2022 2:26 pm
After solve? alignment - there are still three degrees of freedom left....
"three degrees of freedom" is not important
if you care
I upload these two samples
Can you tell me why using XY_Plane is wrong?

The result should be
X distance 0mm
Y distance -100mm
Z distance -100mm
Shouldn't the results for the two samples be the same?
Attachments
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE020.png
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE020.png (141.04 KiB) Viewed 613 times
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE021.png
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE021.png (174.66 KiB) Viewed 613 times
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE20.FCStd
(32.35 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
ASM3_XYZ_PLANE21.FCStd
(35.08 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
User avatar
xsuper9988
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2020 4:20 am

Re: About "Elements" of "Assembly3" used in "XYZ_Plane", please help!

Post by xsuper9988 »

bambuko wrote: Tue May 03, 2022 11:19 am You are doing it all wrong I am afraid :oops:
and, no there is no bug...

Explain to me what is the end result meant to be,
and I will modify your file.
The point I am confused about is
Why are all XYZ_PLANE displayed on XY_PLANE?
Attachments
XY_PLANE.png
XY_PLANE.png (141.59 KiB) Viewed 611 times
XZ_PLANE.png
XZ_PLANE.png (140.6 KiB) Viewed 611 times
YZ_PLANE.png
YZ_PLANE.png (140.25 KiB) Viewed 611 times
Post Reply