could not transform body with pad issued from master sketch

About the development of the Part Design module/workbench. PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS HERE!
Post Reply
User avatar
mwlandolsi
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 10:49 pm

could not transform body with pad issued from master sketch

Post by mwlandolsi »

Just create a sketch, for example a rectangle.
Create a new body
Select the sketch.
Create a pad into the body.

Now try to translate the body! Impossible !
This happen with 0.20
user1234
Veteran
Posts: 1675
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:08 pm

Re: could not transform body with pad issued from master sketch

Post by user1234 »

When you use PartDesign, you have to transform the body. All in the body stick on the body and have no placement. In Part, every object have an own placement (two different concepts).

1.png
1.png (177.5 KiB) Viewed 747 times

Greetings
user1234
User avatar
mwlandolsi
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 10:49 pm

Re: could not transform body with pad issued from master sketch

Post by mwlandolsi »

Thank you for your answer, but it looks that you did not understand what I mean.
It is so simple, just create a sketch with sketcher, and then create a body, create a shape binder based on that sketch.
Pad the binder. Then transform the body.
Screenshot from 2022-06-02 18-11-52.png
Screenshot from 2022-06-02 18-11-52.png (179.65 KiB) Viewed 696 times

This video shows the case
vokoscreen-2022-06-02_17-59-19.mp4.zip
(778.72 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
User avatar
Shalmeneser
Veteran
Posts: 4661
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 12:04 am
Location: Fr

Re: could not transform body with pad issued from master sketch

Post by Shalmeneser »

Binder : Data : Relative=false
user1234
Veteran
Posts: 1675
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:08 pm

Re: could not transform body with pad issued from master sketch

Post by user1234 »

mwlandolsi wrote: Thu Jun 02, 2022 5:19 pm Thank you for your answer, but it looks that you did not understand what I mean.
How should i know what you mean, when you wrote nothing about the shapebinder. Shalmeneser wrote the answer. The shapebinder does not respect the placement per default.

Greetings
user1234
User avatar
mwlandolsi
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 10:49 pm

Re: could not transform body with pad issued from master sketch

Post by mwlandolsi »

Thank you all

user1234 wrote: Thu Jun 02, 2022 5:57 pm How should i know what you mean, when you wrote nothing about the shapebinder.
.
Sorry about that.

Is there a way to set the "relative" property by default to false.

salutations
user1234
Veteran
Posts: 1675
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:08 pm

Re: could not transform body with pad issued from master sketch

Post by user1234 »

mwlandolsi wrote: Thu Jun 02, 2022 6:37 pm Is there a way to set the "relative" property by default to false.
No, as far as i know. But depends how many you want to refer, it is no good idea to use too much of them, else you get a mess.

Greetings
user1234
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 43416
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: could not transform body with pad issued from master sketch

Post by chrisb »

mwlandolsi wrote: Thu Jun 02, 2022 1:31 pm Just create a sketch, for example a rectangle.
Create a new body
Select the sketch.
Create a pad into the body.
Is there a good reason for this workflow? Normally you have the sketches inside of the body; no ShapeBinder needed then.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 3054
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: could not transform body with pad issued from master sketch

Post by adrianinsaval »

I think that's the just minimum example of something he stumbled upon while using a master sketch. See the resulting request: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 38#p599538
User avatar
mwlandolsi
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 10:49 pm

Re: could not transform body with pad issued from master sketch

Post by mwlandolsi »

chrisb wrote: Thu Jun 02, 2022 9:43 pm
mwlandolsi wrote: Thu Jun 02, 2022 1:31 pm Just create a sketch, for example a rectangle.
Create a new body
Select the sketch.
Create a pad into the body.
Is there a good reason for this workflow?
This is not a workflow, this is a reporting of a case where an operation looked strange for me. Because I used it in other versions of FreeCAD and found it functional.

chrisb wrote: Thu Jun 02, 2022 9:43 pm Normally you have the sketches inside the body; no ShapeBinder needed then.
This is very useful when playing with master sketch (case of transforming 2D plans to 3d for example), especially mold plans and plastic parts design. In this case, we have to create a master sketch and then the stacked parts are coming one by one. When you have to create another dimension, just modify the master sketch.
Post Reply