[fixed] ResultShow dialog: translating "Peeq"

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

Post Reply
User avatar
chennes
Veteran
Posts: 2215
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

[fixed] ResultShow dialog: translating "Peeq"

Post by chennes »

Right now the "ResultShow.ui" dialog has a string in it labelled "Peeq" (e.g. the equivalent plastic strain). That string is currently marked for translation -- is that correct? If so, are translators expected to also yield a short acronym, or can they spell out the term?
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 12692
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: ResultShow dialog: translating "Peeq"

Post by Kunda1 »

@NewJoker any idea?
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
Jee-Bee
Veteran
Posts: 2472
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: ResultShow dialog: translating "Peeq"

Post by Jee-Bee »

But peeq is also output version for the *EL File.
So we should be carefull that the reference to the functions are not translated...

https://www.feacluster.com/CalculiX/ccx ... mentoutput
https://www.feacluster.com/CalculiX/ccx ... tml#elfile
NewJoker
Veteran
Posts: 1162
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 7:49 pm

Re: ResultShow dialog: translating "Peeq"

Post by NewJoker »

Kunda1 wrote: Thu Jun 02, 2022 6:34 pm @NewJoker any idea?
We don’t translate it in practice and just talk about PEEQ. Only in some research papers we translate it but then the full name must be used (equivalent plastic strain is directly translated) because abbreviating it in Polish doesn’t make sense. So I would leave it as PEEQ (upper case recommended) since full name is too long to be used in FreeCAD.
User avatar
chennes
Veteran
Posts: 2215
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: ResultShow dialog: translating "Peeq"

Post by chennes »

Perfect, thanks -- I'll make that adjustment.
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
david69
Veteran
Posts: 1085
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:48 pm

Re: ResultShow dialog: translating "Peeq"

Post by david69 »

after scratching my head and spent time on the net (it's not my field), in French, they also use that. I guess Chennes you are dealing with Crowdin. thank you.
Post Reply