Implemented Gmsh Mesh Property "MeshSizeFromCurvature"

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4263
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Implemented Gmsh Mesh Property "MeshSizeFromCurvature"

Post by uwestoehr »

HarryvL wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 7:45 am I keep getting the following error from GMSH:

Code: Select all

Unknown number option 'Mesh.MeshSizeFromCurvature
What is the output of the button to show the version of Gmsh? You must at least use Gmsh 4.8.
User avatar
HarryvL
Veteran
Posts: 1175
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Implemented Gmsh Mesh Property "MeshSizeFromCurvature"

Post by HarryvL »

GMSH produces a mesh, but I can't change any of the options and it gives the MeshSizefromCurvature warning. GMSH version button returns "File not Found" ... but a mesh is produced.
User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4263
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Implemented Gmsh Mesh Property "MeshSizeFromCurvature"

Post by uwestoehr »

HarryvL wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 1:24 pm GMSH version button returns "File not Found" ... but a mesh is produced.
Then your Gmsh installation has a problem. Can you find out what version of Gmsh is installed to your OS?
As said, you need at least Gmsh 4.8 for MeshSizeFromCurvature".
User avatar
HarryvL
Veteran
Posts: 1175
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Implemented Gmsh Mesh Property "MeshSizeFromCurvature"

Post by HarryvL »

It’s 4.4.1. Great. Thanks.
User avatar
HarryvL
Veteran
Posts: 1175
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Implemented Gmsh Mesh Property "MeshSizeFromCurvature"

Post by HarryvL »

I installed 4.10.3 and don't get the MeshSizeFromCurvature error anymore. However, the mesh size parameters have no effect and get reset to 0 upon completion. I also get the following FC error in the report view:

Code: Select all

TypeError: Can't call meta function because I have no idea how to handle Base::Quantity
User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4263
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Implemented Gmsh Mesh Property "MeshSizeFromCurvature"

Post by uwestoehr »

HarryvL wrote: Wed Jun 15, 2022 8:33 am I installed 4.10.3 and don't get the MeshSizeFromCurvature error anymore. However, the mesh size parameters have no effect and get reset to 0 upon completion.
OK. Please attach a simple test file here and give a step by step instruction how to reproduce. I'll try to fix this.
User avatar
HarryvL
Veteran
Posts: 1175
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Implemented Gmsh Mesh Property "MeshSizeFromCurvature"

Post by HarryvL »

Any file will do. For example Box Analysis Static from FEM Examples. Attached for convenience.
Box Analysis Static.FCStd
(15.39 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
User avatar
HarryvL
Veteran
Posts: 1175
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Implemented Gmsh Mesh Property "MeshSizeFromCurvature"

Post by HarryvL »

Step by step instruction. Activate FEM workbench. Select the box in the tree. Press GMSH icon. Enter a maximum element size (different from 0). Press button to get GMSH going. GMSH completes successfully, but element size is reset to 0.

PS: upon entering GMSH dialog I also get this weird error message in the console. It must be a dialog issue. Not a GMSH issue.
User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4263
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Implemented Gmsh Mesh Property "MeshSizeFromCurvature"

Post by uwestoehr »

HarryvL wrote: Wed Jun 15, 2022 2:54 pm Step by step instruction. Activate FEM workbench. Select the box in the tree. Press GMSH icon. Enter a maximum element size (different from 0). Press button to get GMSH going. GMSH completes successfully, but element size is reset to 0.
In your file there are 2 meshes, one of it is outside the FEM container.

Deleting both meshes and creating a new one everything works fine. Here my mesh settings:
FreeCAD_KTIraiZ8Qf.png
FreeCAD_KTIraiZ8Qf.png (12.96 KiB) Viewed 212 times

Here the result:
FreeCAD_SATPyWVh6x.png
FreeCAD_SATPyWVh6x.png (4.11 KiB) Viewed 212 times

Here my FreeCAD file:
Box Analysis Static-better.FCStd
(468.28 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
User avatar
HarryvL
Veteran
Posts: 1175
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Implemented Gmsh Mesh Property "MeshSizeFromCurvature"

Post by HarryvL »

Thanks Uwe, but unfortunately it doesn't work for me. Even when I use your file and delete the meshes, I still only get one mesh density, irrespective of the settings. When I use your file, the maximum size keeps resetting to 1mm.

By the way, I keep getting the mystery error whenever the dialogue opens or when I enter values to it. I can't trace this error back to a location in the source.

Screenshot from 2022-06-16 06-42-44.png
Screenshot from 2022-06-16 06-42-44.png (291.81 KiB) Viewed 179 times
Post Reply