Page 1 of 2

[SOLVED] Difficulties installing OpenCamLib

Posted: Sat May 21, 2022 7:08 am
by 103131
Hi everyone, :)
I'm looking to 3D carve a small relief shape on wood to test. Then I will sculpt something more complicated. I understand that to do this I need to install OpenCamLib. Unfortunately for now, I can't. I followed several tutorials for this, including recently this one:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?t=53640

When I type the command:
git clone git://github.com/aewallin/opencamlib.git
Each time I get the following error message :o :
Cloning in 'opencamlib'...
fatal: unable to connect to github.com:
github.com[0:140.82.121.3]: errno=Connection terminated due to timeout
Could someone tell me what I need to do? I'm no expert and really don't know what to do.
I specify that I have an Ubuntu 20.04.
Thanking you in advance. :)

Re: Difficulties installing OpenCamLib

Posted: Sat May 21, 2022 10:48 am
by herbk
Hi,
the most easy way is to use the Appimage... ;) ;)
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-Bund ... kly-builds

At Anders Wallins GitHub ACC are some infos to, but may be outdated.
https://github.com/aewallin/opencamlib

Re: Difficulties installing OpenCamLib

Posted: Sat May 21, 2022 11:47 am
by 103131
Thank you for your answer. :)
But I already use the Appimage and update it regularly.
And I already know the address you give:
https://github.com/aewallin/opencamlib

The problem is that when I run the command in a console:
git clone git://github.com/aewallin/opencamlib.git
Nothing happens and after a while I estimate two to three minutes I get the following message:
fatal: unable to connect to github.com:
github.com[0:140.82.121.3]: errno=Connection terminated due to timeout
So I can't go any further.

Re: Difficulties installing OpenCamLib

Posted: Sat May 21, 2022 1:44 pm
by Kuzma30

Re: Difficulties installing OpenCamLib

Posted: Sat May 21, 2022 2:18 pm
by 103131
Thank you for your answer. :)
But I don't understand why you're asking me that. In the process explained on this page, at some point in a console, we have to write the command:
git clone git://github.com/aewallin/opencamlib.git
And that's where it doesn't work.

Re: Difficulties installing OpenCamLib

Posted: Sat May 21, 2022 2:58 pm
by Kuzma30
If you get error when git clone with git protocol you can try it with https interface.

Re: Difficulties installing OpenCamLib

Posted: Sun May 22, 2022 2:51 am
by Russ4262
Evening.
I am a Windows user, and the Windows weekly builds have OCL bundled in the binary package. Do the AppImages not have it bundled in the image? You can check by running the AppImage and then typing

Code: Select all

import ocl
in the Python console in FreeCAD. If no error is thrown, it is bundled and available. This means you will only need to address preferences and parameters in FreeCAD to gain access to OCL dependent ops.

Russell

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 Version 2009
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.28914 +9 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master_prs
Hash: 372c0025e2d72d8f06bcd74eb9b8b393db965f92
Python 3.8.6+, Qt 5.15.2, Coin 4.0.1, OCC 7.5.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Installed mods: 
  * FC_SU
  * Z_MacroStartup

Re: Difficulties installing OpenCamLib

Posted: Sun May 22, 2022 5:59 am
by Steveco
Github no longer supports the git:// protocol - see Improving Git protocol security on GitHub.

Try

Code: Select all

git clone https://github.com/aewallin/opencamlib.git
That worked for me, and I'm also on Ubuntu 20.04.

Re: Difficulties installing OpenCamLib

Posted: Sun May 22, 2022 9:11 am
by 103131
Hi everyone :)
I just tried this morning with the command:
It seems to me that everything went well.
But when I go to Freecad, I still don't see ocl.
In freecad 0.19, when I type:
import ocl
in the python console, I get the following message:
>>> import ocl
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<input>", line 1, in <module>
ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'ocl'
>>>
And when I type the same command in the python console of Freecad 0.20, nothing happens. :(

Re: Difficulties installing OpenCamLib

Posted: Sun May 22, 2022 2:26 pm
by Russ4262
103131 wrote: Sun May 22, 2022 9:11 am ...
It seems to me that everything went well.
But when I go to Freecad, I still don't see ocl.
...
Morning,
After cloning the repo, you have to build it. Cloning it only copies the online repository to your local computer. There are some instructions in the FreeCAD wiki on the OpenCamLib page.

Russell