LeadInOut Dressup missing feed rate

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
jescombe
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2021 4:19 pm

LeadInOut Dressup missing feed rate

Post by jescombe »

Hi, when adding a leadin dressup to an operation, it inserts a G1 Z move without a feed rate. This trips up GRBL when there has been no previous feed rate in the job, minimal test file attached...

GCode snippet;

Code: Select all

(Deburr with dressup)
G0 X-5.310 Y-4.760 Z5.000
G0 Z3.000
G1 Z-1.500
G3 X-0.550 Y0.000 I0.000 J4.760 F1000.020
Version;

Code: Select all

OS: Fedora Linux 35 (Workstation Edition) (GNOME/gnome)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.28671 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at fa059e7)
Hash: fa059e7b7e87c77408737903a294f076b97eb71b
Python 3.9.12, Qt 5.12.9, Coin 4.0.0, OCC 7.5.3
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)
Installed mods: 
  * FeedsAndSpeeds 0.4.0
  * kicadStepUpMod 10.10.4
Attachments
chamfer_test.FCStd
(16.06 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
jescombe
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2021 4:19 pm

Re: LeadInOut Dressup missing feed rate

Post by jescombe »

Fwiw, I see there is a "rapid plunge" option for the dressup that would work around this..

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... #L390-L397

But still feels like a bug that there is no feed rate set on the G1?
User avatar
sliptonic
Veteran
Posts: 3457
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:46 pm
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Contact:

Re: LeadInOut Dressup missing feed rate

Post by sliptonic »

This dressup is a mess. I have an issue open and a rewrite in progress but it won't happen before the 0.20 release.

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/issues/6693
https://github.com/sliptonic/freecad/tr ... nleadinout

Russ also has a PR open for this which might help. Try testing it and let me know.
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/6760
Russ4262
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:22 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: LeadInOut Dressup missing feed rate

Post by Russ4262 »

Problem appears to be twofold. Feed rate parameters are missing from rapid commands in the dressup module, and the GRBL post is purposely ignoring feed rates for rapid commands. As I understand these current conditions, both of these items would need to be addressed. I do not know if there is a GRBL post modifier to force feed rates for all commands, which could be a solution for this problem, if such a modifier exists.

Also, I noticed that that vertical rapid rate is not set in the test file provided. I did set this to a positive value during my test suite to determine how both zero and non-zero values affect the gcode produced.

Russell
jescombe
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2021 4:19 pm

Re: LeadInOut Dressup missing feed rate

Post by jescombe »

sliptonic wrote: Mon Apr 25, 2022 2:10 pm Russ also has a PR open for this which might help. Try testing it and let me know.
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/6760
Thanks, have tried with that fix, but no difference..

Russ4262 wrote: Tue Apr 26, 2022 4:29 am Problem appears to be twofold. Feed rate parameters are missing from rapid commands in the dressup module, and the GRBL post is purposely ignoring feed rates for rapid commands.
Ignoring feed rates for rapids is okay isn't it? I would expect them to move at the rapid speed set in the machine regardless (at least that is what I'm used to with GRBL).

I think the problem with the leadin dressup is that it can use either a rapid (G0) or a normal linear (G1) move for this initial Z plunge, but it doesn't include a feed rate either way (and G1 is the default setting). This would be masked if it wasn't the first operation in the file, as the G1 would just use whatever feed rate was last set..

Happy enough to wait for the re-write, now I know there is an easy workaround of selecting rapid moves for plunges if needed.. Thanks!
Russ4262
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:22 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: LeadInOut Dressup missing feed rate

Post by Russ4262 »

Evening.
I reopened the PR #6760, Path: Fixes #6693 - Add Z and K values to arc commands and added a commit to address the missing feed rate that you identified here.

Thanks,
Russell

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 Version 2009
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.29077 +12 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master_prs
Hash: 1a44ffa4963971757a53a626748a94908d25930e
Python 3.8.6+, Qt 5.15.2, Coin 4.0.1, Vtk 8.2.0, OCC 7.5.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Installed mods: 
  * FC_SU
  * Z_MacroStartup
jescombe
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2021 4:19 pm

Re: LeadInOut Dressup missing feed rate

Post by jescombe »

Russ4262 wrote: Sun Jun 19, 2022 2:27 am I reopened the PR #6760
Thanks!
Post Reply