CNC Equipment HAVE/NEED

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Post Reply
User avatar
sliptonic
Veteran
Posts: 2957
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:46 pm
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Contact:

CNC Equipment HAVE/NEED

Post by sliptonic »

As the Path workbench improves two things are happening.
1) People with extra hardware are offering it to help support additional development (HAVE)
2) Developers wanting to add specific features need access to hardware (NEED)

I'm adding this topic specifically to capture these needs and opportunities. Please don't add to this topic otherwise.
If you're trying to sell your hardware, please don't post here. This isn't a for-sale section. Such posts will be removed.

If you have hardware that you'd like to donate, please post here or PM @sliptonic.

If you would like to develop for FreeCAD Path but need hardware, please post here or PM @sliptonic

I will try to make introductions and facilitate.
User avatar
sliptonic
Veteran
Posts: 2957
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:46 pm
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Contact:

Re: CNC Equipment HAVE/NEED

Post by sliptonic »

[WANT] We recently merged an experimental feature for thread milling. I've never done thread milling in my shop and don't have the mills so I can't test this feature. If someone has thread mills in a range of sizes either to donate or to test the feature, please let me know.
cvp83
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 6:48 pm
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Contact:

Re: CNC Equipment HAVE/NEED

Post by cvp83 »

Maybe I could help by testing 4 and 5 axis tool-paths by cutting wood parts.

I have been working on making a CNC machine 4 years, the work envelope being 740mm x 396mm x 280mm (29.1” x 15.6” x 11.0”). The A axis can rotate infinitely. The B axis can move 270 degrees. The spindle is a 1/2” collet Mastercraft router. The operating system currently is LinuxCNC 2.8.0

Have been using Fusion 360 with some success, but it may be that the machine configuration is incorrect - the B axis moves the A axis, and Fusion 360 could not be configured to accommodate this.

Link to the machine's description:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing
ralf_nf
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2020 2:07 pm

Re: CNC Equipment HAVE/NEED

Post by ralf_nf »

Testing could be possible with my machine too: Optimum MH25 with smoothstepper / mach3, with a 4. axxis.
I use FreeCAD for CAM (an CAD) if possible, otherwise a Fusion360 license for CAM, a varicad one for CAD.
I've already tried to read an understand the path-(core) code, but I'm not finished yet.
User avatar
sliptonic
Veteran
Posts: 2957
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:46 pm
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Contact:

Re: CNC Equipment HAVE/NEED

Post by sliptonic »

Offers of testing are appreciated but should be happening anyway. That is, if you can test a feature, please do and report in the relevant topics.
Please use this thread specifically for getting hardware from those who have it to those who need it.
User avatar
Aleks
Posts: 260
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 5:27 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Contact:

Re: CNC Equipment HAVE/NEED

Post by Aleks »

I have an EMCO F1 CNC with LinuxCNC ready to run and offering help (I can probably mill all metals), but I have limited time. Message me if you couldnt find anotherone to help and it is important.
Everything I say is from the perspective of a mechanical engineer that is interested in tools to help create machines and other physical products. If you know what 2006/42/EG is, I would like to talk :)
s-ol
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2022 10:50 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: CNC Equipment HAVE/NEED

Post by s-ol »

I HAVE access to a Roland monoFab SRM-20 3-axis mill, a PROXXON FF 500/BL-CNC 3-axis mill, and a PROXXON PD 400/CNC lathe.

I've seen that both flavours of NC code (Roland RML and nccad) are currently supported as postprocessors in the Path workbench, but haven't tried them yet. If there's anything in particular to figure out with these machines still, I'd be happy to test whatever I can with the limited tools I have at the moment.
mhajicek
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2022 11:21 pm

Re: CNC Equipment HAVE/NEED

Post by mhajicek »

sliptonic wrote: Wed Dec 16, 2020 4:42 pm Offers of testing are appreciated but should be happening anyway. That is, if you can test a feature, please do and report in the relevant topics.
Please use this thread specifically for getting hardware from those who have it to those who need it.
What if the offer to test is general, not limited to any specific topic?

I've been machining since '96, and have a Haas CM-1 with 0.001mm resolution, 36 tools, 50,000 RPM, probing, a fourth axis, and wired for five (I hope to add a trunnion soon). I have a company making small medical device parts, and would be happy to test any applicable machining functions. I threadmill frequently, if that still needs testing.
ViktorS
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2022 2:34 pm

Re: CNC Equipment HAVE/NEED

Post by ViktorS »

Hi!

I have a Mazak Integrex 200SY with 5 axis milling, turning and C axis on both main and subspindle.
I also have access to Cincinnati Arrow 2000 with 12500 RPM, high speed die & mold package and probing.

If anyone need any help to try out code or need suggestions I will gladly do what I can.

/Viktor
JanneK
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 9:30 pm

Re: CNC Equipment HAVE/NEED

Post by JanneK »

[HAVE] EMCO PC-MILL 125 (Sinumerik 840D).
First priority is to make sure I have a working PP. Thread-milling may be of interest.
Post Reply